The booth that threw up Christmas, or how NOT to put all your eggs in one basket

28 Dec

So I had this whole idea for a post: talk about how, if you are an antiques dealer, you shouldn’t put all your eggs in one basket when it comes to holidays — unless, of course, you are that quirky space everyone flocks to when the seasons change. OR…if you don’t care to sell a blessed thing other than Christmas merch at Christmastime. Then, and only then, be my guest. 

BUT… then I thought that post would be a bit pushy and bossy since I’ve been MIA for a few months. {Even my husband noticed. That’s when I know I’ve let things go a little too far south.}

So instead, I thought I’d throw in a few pictures of my pink room, which is where I sit when I’m computing. It’s also where the cats do their business, so sometimes I avoid it. It also houses two sofa beds that can’t be folded out into beds at the same time. And there’s a stunning view of the trampoline in our backyard and the junking mess I’ve amassed on the patio. Sounds perfectly inviting, doesn’t it?

Sometimes the pink room is filled with music. When I look above the computer screen, I see my children’s artwork from many moons ago. I also glimpse a tiny inspiration board full of family photos, art workshop name tags and other odds and ends. There’s a killer new dress form I haven’t been able to let go of and the coolest coral-colored arm chair with matching footstool. I also have a horse-hair quilt from France that was bought for resale, but has found a home on the back of one of the sofas. See? Not all bad.

Image

This is a corner in the pink room. The magnet you can hardly see on the wall says “my house is cuter than yours,” which is only true most of the time.

Truth be told, blogging became a hassle for me. I was taking photos mostly with my phone, so I would blog from my phone. But I don’t really like the keyboard on my phone, so my writing was brief. And when I started this blog, I started it as a place to write about junk. So I was hating that I’d stopped doing that. In addition, I hate uploading photos. I’m not sure why I found it to be such a nuisance, but I did. Maybe I’m over that phase now. I got a new camera from Santa, and I’ve been having fun messing around with it. And the uploading really hasn’t been bad at all. BUT…there may be times when I’m only writing a post. I may skip photos altogether. I realize that breaks a cardinal blogging rule, but I really couldn’t care less at this point. Rules were made to be broken. Right?

Image

I LOVE pin cushions. These were purchased at the Magnolia Pearl garage sale a while back. In the background is a LONG Victorian pyrography box, covered in old wallpaper and purchased from Willow Nest. These sit on a coffee table in the pink room.

So, looking forward, I’m still planning to publish my year-end name-dropping post where I brag about all my cool junking peeps and the fun places I’ve been during 2012. That post will probably be from my phone because that is where all the photos are! New this year: I’m mostly doing away with links. You can look them up yourself, right?! I’m too lazy to link up. Also, I’m following in the footsteps of Debbie from Talking White Trash and turning off blog comments… when I get around to figuring out how to do it.

It’s not that I don’t want to hear from you. I do. Really. But you can shoot me an email or visit me on Facebook if you’d like to chat. I’m that close. All the time. 24-7. 

Image

The only kind of flowers I can grow : metal ones on a chandelier.

And this concludes my strange but true blog post for this evening. I have a BIG January planned. Somehow I need to work in a trip to Ft. Worth to pick up a load of stuff from Lisa with Tarnished and Tattered. My across-the-street neighbor is pressuring me to pick up the cabinet I purchased from her back in the summer. I still have a couple of pieces of furniture, including an antique wheelchair, to pick up from a friend who lives pretty close to me. There’s a crate and some sewing machine drawers waiting for me in New Braunfels. Dallas Market is RIGHT around the corner. {I LOVE going to market, to market to buy who-knows-what.} And finally, look for news here after January 30, when I’m sure to be announcing my upcoming nuptials to Matchbox Twenty’s Rob Thomas, who I’ll be spending time with in San Antonio. {Apologies to my current husband for having to find out the news on my blog.}

All the junking news that’s fit to print. Right here. For you and you alone. Hope you are enjoying a fabulous holiday season! Cheers!!

10 Responses to “The booth that threw up Christmas, or how NOT to put all your eggs in one basket”

  1. Beth Leintz December 28, 2012 at 6:35 am #

    Before you turn off your comments, decide you’re only going to post Polaroids or run off with Rob to live at Daryl’s house, I want to let you know I want to see more pictures of your pink room- and the rest of your stuff. LOVE the pin cushions, love the tole

    • junkology December 28, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

      It’s the litter box you’re after, isn’t it Beth?!

  2. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage December 28, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Girl you are too funny! Yes I had to get my two cents in before you turned it off to do so…I just had to say I’m headed to Ft. Worth on Sunday? Any chances you are. Headed to see Fecicia’s things and all the great vendors at Lone Star, can’t wait

    • junkology December 28, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

      Not sure when I’ll make it to Ft. Worth, but it won’t be this weekend. Have FUN!!!! Buy me a pillow while you’re there!

  3. debbie york December 28, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Ahhh…the truth comes out. You ARE mushy on the inside!
    If you’re in the need of a third fold-out couch…I know where’s there’s one with only one little issue!
    Good post, but I’m warning you. Expect some flack about the “no comments” thingy. Turns out there’s some folks who want to leave comments. Go figure!
    Deb
    P.S. If you’re gonna marry Rob…can I have dibs on your ex? I’m thinking about trading C.D. in for a younger model.

    • junkology December 28, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

      And here I thought I’d already turned off comments! Guess I need to do some googling!

  4. atiyamohiuddin December 28, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    who needs photos? blogs are for writing and i love yours.

    • junkology December 28, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

      Will you be my new best friend?!

  5. cindy craine December 28, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    I think the trend is more Facebook than blogging! It took me a long time to do my last post, making collages and getting everything finished took well over an hour. I have also noticed that people have stopped leaving as many comments. I’ve noticed that I’m getting hits but no comments, so what the heck, turn them off! We can always harass you on FB!-xoxo-cindy

    • junkology December 28, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

      Oh, Cindy! I tried to turn them off, but they are still here! From what I read, they should be off on the next post. We’ll see! Good to hear from you…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

