Junking my way into Blogland

9 Mar

Let’s start by getting something straight:  I’m unorganized.  And it shows.  It starts in my wallet, crammed with receipts I’ll never look at; extends to my handbag, which I’m embarrassed to open at checkout counters, so I carry my money in my pocket (which negates the need for a handbag altogether, you might say.  My what a vicious circle!); moves to my minivan, then sneaks past me into my house.  One time I actually let a friend have a peek inside my bedroom closet.  Then I showed her my husband’s closet.  “This,”  I admitted, “showcases our fundamental differences.”  My husband is neat as a pin most of the time.  Still, he puts up with my disorganization and rarely says a word about it.  When I was working in public relations, our company had a staff training which included an exercise where we had to line up based on our answers to a personality survey.  Needless to say, all the creative people were lined up at one end, while the accounting staff, etc. made up the other end of the line.  We (mostly the communications staff) started discussing the status of our purses and cars, and bonded over our neatnessless.  As someone once said, “A dirty house is the sign of a boring life.”  I concur.

But enough about all that, now!  If you are reading this, you probably wonder what organization has to do with Junkology.  The answer:  I don’t know!  All I know for sure is my pack-rat tendencies tend to benefit my need to create and re-purpose.  Where would I be without all those celluloid mirror frames devoid of their mirrors?  What about all those little mermaid swizzle sticks?  They worked beautifully in an under-the-sea piece of altered art.  Which leads me to another one of my character traits:  buying out complete collections.  For example, last fall at the Warrenton antiques show, I only wanted a couple of black rolling pins, but ended up with 36 of those babies when the dealer offered me a deal I just couldn’t refuse.  Same thing with a batch of test tubes.  I still don’t know what I’m going to do with all those little glass vials.  At Halloween, I filled them with vintage fortune cards and sealed them with a button and instructions to “break glass for fortune.”  Seemed like a good idea at the time!  I’d welcome any ideas you have for the rest of my little vials, which number at least 50.  If you look at the picture above, that’s another collection I had to have, now I’m fit to be tied!  Yes.  I bought a man’s entire necktie collection.  Probably more than 60 ties.  But I couldn’t refuse.  I spent a total of $6.  All I really wanted was enough to try my hand at making a handbag.  Now I should have enough to make at least six beautiful bags.  If I ever do make them, I’ll post a photo . . . once I figure out how to post photos!  But . . . don’t hold your breath that those bags will show up anytime soon.  I’m not very organized, you see.  That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it!

I hope you’ll become a regular reader/viewer.  I look forward to entertaining you in the ways of  Junkology and hope to hear from you:  your ideas, inspirations and creations.

Have junk?  Will travel!   ; ) Kristi

2 Responses to “Junking my way into Blogland”

  1. vintagesue March 9, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

    hi kristy….
    it’s sue, from vintagesue. I CAN’T STOP LAUGHING. i am the same way about collections. i will buy and buy piles of stuff if i know i can get a better deal. i too, am afraid to open my purse when i go to the checkout counter. even my son’s friend told me i had a messy purse. mind your own business kid and get back with me in 20 years.
    i also have a mess that follows me whever i go. my mom said i would always leave a trail.
    keep up the blog. your writing is honest and witty. i can’t wait to read more!! thanks for stopping by my blog. good luck!!
    vintagesue

    • junkology March 11, 2009 at 12:02 am #

      thanks for visiting and for the kind words . . . I’m loving this already!

Leave a Reply

