The junk in my trunk

27 Apr

Yeah, I do know the meaning of the phrase, but I’m being literal here — as in the minivan hatch.  Let me show you:

junk-005

That wicker thing is a shabby old garden cart.  Those metal pieces to the left are the bottoms of two birdcage stands.  There are frames and screen guards under the cart, along with a phone stand that must’ve been ripped right out of someone’s house.  Bad bird cage that was on one of the stands is to the right.  It’ll be replaced with a better birdcage before heading to the shop.

Here’s another view:

junk-004

That blue thing is a very shabby bentwood “chair.”  It has no back and the caning in the seat has a huge hole, which only enhanced its appeal, naturally.  Under that is a bicycle basket, and you can spot a decent birdcage to the left.

Here’s the recap of the Saturday Junking Emergency…Neighborhood sale was nothing but a waste of gas.  I spent a couple of hours and $20 and came away with only a seashell, a scrabble game, a little bookshelf that was begging to be painted, a stool that will be cute once it’s painted and recovered, and I can’t even remember what else.  But there must be more because that doesn’t even add to $20.  Is it possible I spent less?  On the visit to the 50% off estate sale, I picked up the two bird cages on stands, the garden cart and an old framed photo that I was so surprised to find.  I thought for sure it would have been sold already.  I also snagged some other framed art and a christening outfit.  You can make out the old framed photo in the stack of junk pictured below:

junk-002

After grabbing a couple of tacos — San Antonio’s choice for any meal — I headed to another estate sale that was on its 25% off day.  I almost skipped this sale because I don’t usually junk in new neighborhoods, especially taupevilles that grew after clear-cutting my beloved hill country (but that’s another post).  I’m glad I broke my rule on this sale.  I picked up a dozen or so wedding cake toppers for a song.  I’m not sure they’re all that old, but a little tea staining goes a long way, right?  I found a beautiful satin baby bed coverlet that was aching to join the goods earmarked for my new shop space.  Got a few books.  All-in-all it was well worth the visit to taupeville.

This morning — or rather Sunday morning, as it’s already Monday — I hit the flea market as usual.  I got the most amazingly huge megaphone.  I LOVE it.  My favorite find, by far.  I also picked up an old radio horn (speaker), and lots of other regular stuff.  I later headed to the shop with a freshly painted and distressed table, since I had sold a bookshelf the day prior, so junk was overflowing in my space!  While I was at the shop, I noticed the occupants of my new May1 space had already moved out.  So since I happened to have a can of paint in the minivan, I spent the afternoon turning forest green rafters into cream rafters.  The change was amazing.  But after listening to country music on a radio for more than five hours, I was ready to shoot myself or leave.  I opted on the latter since my house is such a disaster… death would be the more embarrassing of the alternatives.  Mi casa is NOT your casa this week, thankyouverymuch.  After dinner this evening I had the pleasure of unloading my junkmobile.  My favorite activity!!  I’ve been invited to a private estate sale tomorrow and then have a garden bench to pick up from a Craigslister, so I had to make room for more JUNK!   Then THAT IS IT.  I must finish painting since move-in day is Friday!  NO MORE JUNKING this week … unless it’s an emergency, of course.

8 Responses to “The junk in my trunk”

  1. Carol Casey April 27, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    I saw that you had been shopping in San Antonio, I think that is the same wicker garden tea cart that I looked at on Friday at the Olmos Park estate sale. I really liked it, but passed because of Fiesta weekend. I’m glad to see that it found a home. Please let me know where your shop is, I’d love to visit.
    Smiles,

    Carol

  2. Carol Casey April 27, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    I saw that cart on Friday at the estate sale in Olmos Park, but didn’t buy it since it was Fiesta Weekend and I knew I would be spending alot of money downtown.
    I’m glad to see that it found a home, please let me know where your shop is, I’d love to visit
    Smiles,
    Carol
    jcdas@msn.com

    • junkology April 27, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

      Thanks for visiting! Nice to meet a fellow SA junker! That’s THE exact cart from Olmos Park. It was still there Saturday, so I rescued it. Hope you had a good time at Fiesta. We don’t usually go down for it. Not much into the crowd scene. My main shop is actually in Llano, TX at Whimseys, but I have space in SA at Homestead Handcrafts on Thousand Oaks, between I35 and Nacogdoches, and a wee tiny space at the HH location on Blanco Road, north of 1604. Just ask for Checkered Past, or vendor 1301, and they should be able to direct you to my space. I’ve started expanding at Thousand Oaks. I’m completely freaked out by that decision, but that’s where I think the garden cart will find its place. Let me know what you think…we try to keep our prices reasonable. Oh… both HH locations will be having sidewalk sales this Saturday, May 2. Usually there are some great deals.
      Take care!
      Kristi

      • Carol Casey April 28, 2009 at 7:17 am #

        Kristi,

        I bet I’ve bought things from your booth before, there are two venders that I love at Homestead, one uses pink
        admission tickets for tags and the other booth has lots of black and cream colored items, I think the space has
        gypsy in the name. Can’t wait to get back over to HH to check it out, I haven’t been in about a month or so.

        Smiles,

        Carol

      • junkology April 28, 2009 at 8:36 am #

        I’m the pink ticket person, though I’ve changed up the tags now. There’s a picture of the new version in my latest post. The tickets worked well for the staff since they could just tear them in half. But there’s not much space to write descriptions. I may go back to them, but I’m trying something new…at least for a while. Glad you enjoy our junk. It’s loads of work, but loads of fun as well.

  3. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage April 28, 2009 at 8:11 am #

    Hi Kristi, thanks for stopping by, no it wasn’t me that discussed dress forms, it could have been my friends Renee (A Junk Queen blog) or Donna (Curious Goods blog), both are on my sidebar and they set up in BarW. I’m located at Zapp Hall, right in front of the Hall. If you come out in the Fall, please stop by, Theresa BTW, love your junk you found and also a customer that always buys from me I think has either moved in the Homestead Mall or she is going to move into it, her name is Janet, don’t know if that rings a bell.

    • junkology April 28, 2009 at 8:42 am #

      I really need to take a day and check out all these wonderful blogs. And I’m in need of inspiration from somewhere since all my favorite shelter mags are now defunct. I was all around Zapp Hall while in Warrenton, so I’m sure I saw your space. I will look for you in the fall. I’ll have to check on Janet, your customer, too. There are about 200 vendors in the shop, so there are many I’ve never met. I know someone just moved in that sells Frida Kahlo and Spurs stuff, but I’m guessing that’s not your Janet! Take care…Kristi

  4. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage April 29, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    Wow, I didn’t realize there were that many dealers there, maybe I’ll just have to head your way. No, that doesn’t sound like Janet. She bought a lot of mannequins, fish tanks, yarn and unusual items. If I had to guess I’m thinking she’s going more for a white, cottage, shabby look?

Leave a Reply

