Stained glass makes me giddy…

5 May

But why can’t I stop with just one beautiful piece?  Why did I have to bid on 13 pieces, most of which had cracks?  I guess that’s what happens when you go to auction and someone thwarts your plan to get all the cheap stuff at the end.  Someone who has mucho $$ to spend.  Someone who’ll outbid you at any price.  I couldn’t even be a proper bottom feeder tonight, because some newbie way overbid everyone at the end of the auction.  Guess no one bothered to tell him that if you put in a couple of hours, you expect to get SOMETHING dirt cheap.  Not tonight.  But I will say that I’m happy for the auctioneer, who finally got some decent cash for a shipment from England.  I’m just a pathetic loser.  I think I even rolled my eyes once as I was being outbid.  Not cool.

So…happy May!  I survived the moving-into-a-big-space week, and have taken a bit of a rest over the past couple of days.  No Sunday flea market for me.  I did manage to hit a couple of garage sales and an estate sale Saturday, but that’s all the junking I’ve done lately.  I had to keep the classifieds section of the paper closed so I wouldn’t be tempted to stray from my move in!  Now I’ll give you a peek into my new little world.  So far, so good…

shop-pix-008

Day 1 of the move in, I think.  This great wrought iron table & four chairs sold the day after I brought it in, I think… to be replaced by:

shop-pix-019

The wooden table is of the drop-leaf variety and was salvaged a couple of months ago.  The chairs were finished by my mom.  The table cover has already sold, but I still have that cool set of dishes.

shop-pix-026

One of the lithographs to the left is gone, as is the angel statue that someone got for a song!  I don’t know what I was thinking when I priced that thing.  I need to pay closer attention to what I’m doing!!  Carol — that’s the garden cart on the left, full of floral chenille pillows.

shop-pix-025

That little wind-up alarm clock is already sold, as is the little piece of silver-plate.  I adore the teapot lamp, and that black blob on the right is an old radio speaker.  Many people who should know better were holding it up to their mouths and being silly girls over the weekend, despite the swine flu scare.  It does make an excellent hearing aid…

shop-pix-020

Frames were a HUGE seller last week.  When this picture was taken, three frames were already sold.  The two behind the dress form are now gone, too.  And I had the cutest christening outfit hung in the long black frame for about a half a second.  The iron table has sold.  The black urns are gone.  And two of my petticoats, the top hat and the wall pocket have sold, as well.

shop-pix-017

I so love this display.  Both the photo/card holders sold quickly, but luckily I had replacements ready.

shop-pix-009

I think all this merch is still in the store… 

shop-pix-005

Someone is handling the merchandise!!  I think I told her I wouldn’t post this pic, but I just couldn’t resist…it’s too cute.  The “perfect womanhood” bust was atop the wicker stool by my dress forms before it was snagged at another crazy low price.  Su had a little fun with it before they parted ways…

shop-pix-022

Another view of the flower bed area…

shop-pix-031

Shared space pink display…

shop-pix-032

More shared space…

shop-pix-035

Not so mellow yellow display…

shop-pix-037

More yellow that’s not selling well…

and lastly:

shop-pix-039

One shop.  Three different spaces.  Have I become a space invader?  Can I handle the pressure?  Will anyone keep buying all my junk? Guess we’ll find out. All I know for sure is that what was shaping up to be one of my worst months ever, turned out to be among the top three.   Tomorrow is the start of the next pay period, so we’ll see how it goes.  I have lots of work ahead of me this week.  I need to get a chandelier painted and hung, finish up a dresser so I can move the sold table out of the big space, finish stocking the big space, do a massive re-haul of the space with the yellow stuff, find a home for all that stained glass, and of course…spend some time and money junking!!  If you’re one of my customers, I thank you immensely for your support.  If you’re Su…don’t be too mad over the photo…and I’m impressed you’re looking at this blog.  If you’re a junker, I’m so glad to get to know you.  We’re a unique group.  Don’t forget to support Baby Bella.  Buy your raffle tix now!!

One Response to “Stained glass makes me giddy…”

  1. Carol Casey May 6, 2009 at 7:42 am #

    Everything looks so great, I didn’t make it out to Homestead on Saturday for the sidewalk sale, sounds like it was a great day. The tea cart looks so cute with the pillows in it. Can’t wait to come see it all.

    Smiles,

    Carol

Leave a Reply

