While the cat’s away…

20 May

…the mouse will create:

a shop 001

Found the turn-of-the-20th-century art books at the flea market last weekend.  Confession:  I have a giant weakness for ephemera.  Have I said that before?  Even so…it’s worth repeating.  I wanted to keep every single one of the 13 books because they were all different.  I want them to sell, but won’t be disappointed if I MUST hold on to a few of them — especially the ones focusing on body parts.   I left them at the shop today, paired with the art brushes in a silverplate tray alongside a French bust which reads “La Paix.”  I don’t have a photo of the bust, but I do have a story!  I got her at auction last night, thinking she was cast bronze.  She’s not.  I’m hoping she’s really old, and I think she is.  I’m hoping she’s NOT from China via crate from France.  She’ll be priced like the real thing, since I bid thinking she was bronze!  Duh!! *Always preview auction items before bidding!*

I have the run of the house until 1:55 Saturday, so I’m taking complete advantage of spreading out projects and accomplishing quite a lot.  It helps that a new commercial is being filmed for the shop, and my space may be in it.  Needless to say, that means a lot of fluffing since stuff keeps selling whether there’s a commercial pending or not!  I have lots of holes I’m trying to fill on the walls.  Here’s what I’ll be haging tomorrow:

a shop 011

My son was all, “Why are you doing wedding stuff?”  Well, it is getting close to June, is it not?  Am I too early?  Am I too late?  My girls (dress forms, that is) all got their pearls in anticipation of the big month…I’ll be breaking out the cake topper collection soon!  I’ve amassed a number of them this year.

Another creation that will be hung tomorrow:

a shop 008

I’ve always loved how people were so serious in all those old photos.  This assemblage speaks to that very issue.  Next I’ll be digging out the wedding photos.  A friend gave me a really cute trellis that I’ll be using for my wedding pic display this year.  Can’t wait.  I love doing wedding, even though I usually don’t sell much of it. 

Tomorrow I may take a much-needed break from painting and creating.  I was hoping for some estate sales, but haven’t heard of any happening tomorrow.  Guess I’ll check the paper early in the morning.  In the meantime, there’s a pillow with my name on it somewhere in this mess of a nest.  I’ll be dreaming of good junk…

One Response to “While the cat’s away…”

  1. Zita - Mlle Magpie May 22, 2009 at 6:06 pm #

    Love the vignette you made with the art books and paintbrushes on the tray. I love ephemera too! Thanks so much for stopping by today.

Leave a Reply

