Tidbits of today

21 May

I may have overdone the French connection in my new space.  Today someone asked if I was French.  Oui!!  Maybe it’s the French restaurant sign.  Or the French plates.  Or the French bust.  Or the French Victorian prints. 

a shop 017

Or the Paris flowers sign.  Or the Paris Cafe sign.  A few weeks ago someone thought my space was a tearoom.  There’s only one table, so I’m guessing that pesky French restaurant sign was the cause of her confusion.  Or maybe she was simply hungry and hopeful.

I finally took the old and overdressed baby doll to the shop today. 

scary doll 005

Two people thought I was holding a real baby.  One thought she looked deathly ill.  It probably didn’t help that I was bouncing her when that woman walked by.  No…I don’t think she’s real, but her old eyes make a cool squeaking sound when they open and close, hence the bouncing.

I passed by my computer this afternoon and felt a wave of nausea wash over me when I glimpsed the words “linear equation.”  My son was working on a project for his high school algebra class.  I never made it past college algebra.  The teacher I had for that class still scares me.  She called me by my last name.  She randomly picked people to write problems on the board.  She had an annoying snorting problem.  She was 3,000 years old.  She ruined my dreams of becoming a pencil pusher and forced me into a life of ruin that included journalism, public relations and, GASP, junking…Guess I should thank her!

I discovered a 20-year-old mix tape today.  I made it for my then-boyfriend/now-husband for Valentine’s Day, 1989.  Wish I still had time to make mix tapes on the dual cassette player.  Or better yet, wish I could’ve banked all that time I used making said tapes so that I could redeem it now and take some time off for good behavior.

Yo-Yos…the shoe…anyone remember them?  They were all that when I was around 11 or 12 years old.  I know I must have a picture of someone wearing them!  Today a friend of mine had on a pair of Yo-Yo knock-offs. Adolescent memories flooded my brain, which may be why I left half my life at the shop…again.  But, Su…I threw away my Coke can today!  Yay!!

Surely there’s an estate sale around here tomorrow.  The countdown to 1:55 Saturday afternoon has begun…

2 Responses to “Tidbits of today”

  1. Su May 22, 2009 at 12:21 am #

    What’re you counting down to???

    • junkology May 22, 2009 at 7:54 am #

      Bill’s return …

Leave a Reply

