You light up my life

29 May

I’ve entered my lamp-lovin’ phase, I think.  I don’t have many lamps in my home.  I know, I know…I really should.  But the only actual lamps I can think of are in my bedroom, my younger son’s bedroom and our dining room.  My house has pathetic lighting to begin with, so I could use some extra bulbs burning brightly, or dimly, or alternating between the two.  Over the past week, I’ve purchased nine lamps.  Two floor lamps, a pair of matching bedside lamps that need to be rewired, three matching lamps with girly-girl shades, a very shabby lamp that I topped with a perfectly ratty old shade and some crystals and immediately took to the shop, and a Rembrandt lamp that I intend to keep.  Here’s a peek at the Rembrandt lamp:

frilly phase 004

Isn’t she lovely?  I have a friend that rewires lamps, so she’s going to take a look at her for me.  She’s a keeper, for sure.

So maybe my lamp phase is colliding with my fussy, frilly feminine phase, ’cause I also took a liking to these:

frilly phase 006

They have the prettiest little rose details:

frilly phase 008

frilly phase 009

I’m in love…BUT…they’re going to the shop tomorrow.  Their mate will stay at my house for the time being, however, but not forever.  Here she is:

frilly phase 005

One more view of the lampshade:

frilly phase 007

Okay…maybe ONE more:

frilly phase 010

Now I’m done gushing.  So what do you think?  Have I gone mad?  One last photo before I hit the hay.  This is one of a couple of floor lamps I got at auction:

frilly phase 003

Now it’s time to turn OUT the lights.  The party’s over…

2 Responses to “You light up my life”

  1. Mindy May 29, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    Ohhh, yeah. I would keep the 1st lamp, too. Wow. The others should be good money makers. Good for you! ~Mindy

    • debra Booth February 22, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      Did you make the lampshade for the 2nd one?

Leave a Reply

