Crime doesn’t pay…or does it?

15 Jun

Do you, by any chance, happen to remember this girl, dressed for a winter’s day, even though it’s 100 degrees outside?

 

scary doll 004

The good news?  She sold Saturday!  And I’d be hip, hip, hooraying if Hagetha the Horrible hadn’t pulled a fast one on this purchase.  If you’ll notice, my scary baby’s wearing a fur hat.  The hat was NOT included in the $45 price of the doll.  This was clearly stated on the doll’s price tag, which was tied to the doll’s ankle.  In addition, a $26 price tag was pinned to the hat.

Hag the Horrible removed the price tag from the hat then removed the price tag from the doll.  Practiced as she was, Hag then asked one of the women working in the shop for help in deciding whether she should purchase said doll.  “Is the hat included with the doll?” she asked.  Since there was no tag on the hat, Hag was told that yes, it must go with the doll.

At the counter, Hag handed over the doll’s price tag.  But…there was no price on the tag.  Then the women working at the shop discovered the price part of the tag laying on the table under the doll.  They rang up the purchase.  Hag paid with cash, naturally, and walked out, stolen hat and doll. 

See…this is what she did:  She removed the price tag from the hat.  She removed the price tag which clearly stated, “Hat not included,” from the doll.  She ripped the doll’s price tag apart, apparently pocketing the “hat not included” piece.  I know this because all the tags are saved at the shop.  I saw the mangled tag. I could barely make out the bottom of the letters from the word “included” on the top part of the ripped tag. 

So the Hag is a thief.  Trust me.  This was no simple misunderstanding.  This was practiced shoplifting. (I’ve spared you all the diversion tactics she employed.) What I can’t understand is why she paid $45 just to steal a $26 item.  Did she pocket some other smalls as well?  Was she so desperate to pay $45 instead of $71 that she was overcome with temporary insanity?  It’s pathetic, actually.  It’s junk, for crying out loud.  Good junk, maybe, but junk nonetheless.  I can’t get my head around it.  I’ve checked ebay and c-list just to see if she’s trying to sell the hat or the doll/hat combo.  Beyond that I don’t know what I can do.  They say thieves return to the scene of the crime.  I hope so.  And I hope I’m there when she returns, so I can open up my Texas-sized can of whoop-ass.

5 Responses to “Crime doesn’t pay…or does it?”

  1. Mindy June 15, 2009 at 6:52 pm #

    What comes around goes around. She’ll get hers, whether you give it to her, or someone else does. I hate her if that makes you feel any better. ugh. ~Mindy

    • junkology June 15, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

      Mindy — you made me laugh out loud…and made my day!!

  2. sandi vander dussen July 12, 2009 at 6:31 am #

    I think that this is her way of stealing. I hope the clerk remembers what she looks like. She will return and maybe she will be caught. Nasty person! Sandi

  3. Donna July 28, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    GRRRRRRRRRRRRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

    Sorry this happened. Some people obviously need to find a different form of entertainment……….. hope the doll show up for wale at a booth in a shop around the corner. Wouldn’t it be fun to see the look on the thief’s face when you switch tags on the doll for a different item and buy it for $2.99?

    I know those of us who couldn’t live with ourselves if we did something like that can only dream………. but it WOULD be FUN…….. LOL

    Donna

    • junkology July 28, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

      I might resort to violence — like, say, a kick in the shins — if I ever catch that thief, ugly thing that she is…

Leave a Reply

