Lovin’ the Curbside Grab

20 Jul

After a week of R & R, I arrived back in SA ready to hit the junkin’ trail.  The shop survived without me, so all is well, though I would’ve preferred to return to a sold-out space.  Who wouldn’t, right?! 

I hit the flea market Sunday, finding a few things, but nothing out of the ordinary.  The best buy of the day was probably a $5 pocket watch.  Its case is in perfect condition and the crystal is intact.  I’ve been a little more organized than usual, having sorted my new finds into piles according to their destinations.  I must say that is quite an accomplishment as I’m not known for my organizational skills.  But I’m seeing a big payoff for finally stocking my booth that’s almost two hours away from home.  I don’t go there often, but I did a big drop over the 4th of July weekend and sales have really taken off.  I’ve vowed to take better care of that space, since it’s taking such good care of me this month!

I got a wild hair last night, and sketched a new design for my big space at Homestead.  I started painting some mirror frames in preparation of a big re-do, as I’m considering a wall filled entirely by different shapes and sizes of mirrors.  We’ll see.  Early this morning, when it was nice and steamy like a sauna, I loaded the minivan then headed to get a start on the re-vamp.  Sadly, I only got a small portion redone.  I’m incredibly slow, even with a sketch.  And I always, without fail, overestimate how much space I have.  I worked this morning on creating a porch area with an iron loveseat, window screens on the wall, white sparkly wreaths, columns and broken cement pieces filled with paper flowers I made out of old patterns and coffee filters.   I overestimated by only one window screen and a screen door, but the area came together quite nicely, I must say.  The downside is…I have more than half the space left to work on.  Like I said…slow…as in turtle slow.

On the way home from the shop, I copped a curbside goodie — a long dresser that was calling my name.  Luckily I had room in the minivan.  I always worry that the homeowner just happened to sit whatever-my-find-may-be on the curb for a moment, never intending someone to scoop it up.  Call me paranoid.  So I rang the doorbell, just to make sure it was a freebie.  No one answered. I loaded and bailed.  Yippeeee!  Free stuff makes me smile in a large way.

Since I can’t seem to remember to take my camera with me to the shop, I’ll share a couple of photos from the vay-cay… It’s always fun to get away, but there really is no place like home, however steamy it may be…

ft davis 071509 082

An appropriate sign for a ghost town, don’t you think?

ft davis 071509 099

Since my SA yard is baked to a crisp, it was refreshing to be surrounded by a lush green landscape.

ft davis 071509 084

Look at those blue skies… they’re even more amazing at night, when they’re flush with twinkly stars.

Now I must hit the laundry and put my paint brush back to work.  All play and no work makes Jack a dull boy.  ummmm, wait a minute …oh, never mind…

4 Responses to “Lovin’ the Curbside Grab”

  1. Sue July 20, 2009 at 10:15 pm #

    Oh, grrrl, I’m glad your shop is being good to you! I had no idea your shop was 2 hours away; mine is 1 hour away and I’m always feeling like a chump. What we’ll do for our habit, huh?

    It’s so true about treating your shop well; when i re-stock/re-arrange frequently, it definitely pays off (except for the mileage and time commitment). And glad to hear I’m not the only dork who draws up plans for a re-arrange!

    Next time bring your CAMERA

    • junkology July 20, 2009 at 10:45 pm #

      Yes…one shop that’s far away and one that’s close enough to visit all too often! And I’m a sketching FREAK! But it never turns out like my plans. Maybe I should just scan my sketches since I’m frequently sans camera!

  2. Kelly July 21, 2009 at 10:43 pm #

    what is the name of your shop that is two hours away? Is it homestead. Have you seen (on someone’s blog, sorry that’s all i remember) where they make the garland out of coffee filters, cupcake liners and tulle? that is my next project to put my own spin on that.

    • junkology July 22, 2009 at 1:23 am #

      The shop that’s actually 104 miles away from my house is Whimseys in Llano. If you haven’t been to the shops in Llano, you should check them out. Binky Morgan, who has done some work with Homestead in Fredericksburg has the shop next door to Whimseys. It’s lovely, too. I think she still has an all-white room, which would be right up your alley! I haven’t seen the coffee filter garland, but the flowers are beautiful! I kept mine stark white. I do like the old pattern flowers, too. Now I’ll need to search for that garland. Please post a picture when you complete yours! I did buy and have already sold some garland made out of buttons strung on curled wire. All creamy buttons, strung in threes. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

