O-v-e-r-p-r-i-c-e-d but Ouija friendly

13 Aug

Here we are nearing the middle of August and I’ve yet to blog once this month.  And there’s so much to tell!  But I have so little to show.  I just can’t seem to remember to get a new battery for my camera!  A few weeks ago, I remembered to take it along on a junket, but right in the middle of a lovely visit with Stephanie of The Chicken Coop in Floresville, my battery died.  So… here’s what I can show you from that trip.  Her business card:

business cards

Just be sure to call for her hours before you hit the road.  I think she’s open Thursday through Saturday, but I’m not sure.  And I know Saturday’s a short day for her.  It’s a beautiful shop, and it’s all her very own junk.  I picked up a couple of really cute lampshades that she designed, and many, many mirrors.  Her prices are very reasonable, especially if you’re buying for yourself or for Warrenton!  Here are the very few shots of her shop:

more shop 002

I took the photo above AFTER I’d created an empty space where a quirky plastic mirror used to be!  Now it’s all mine…SNAP!

more shop 003

I really wanted the triple mirror that’s in the background of this photo, but one of its three mirrors was cracked, and it was, sadly, more than what I could pay taking that crack into consideration.  BUT  I did see another cracked mirror, just like it at my next stop… Glory B’s.  Hers wasn’t for sale.  It is rumored that Stephanie and Beverly picked up those mirrors at the same sale.  Great minds, and all… I did find an uncracked one at auction a few days later.  And it was right in my re-sale price range!  Yippeeee!

more shop 004

Stephanie turns lampshade bones into works of art.  I’ll snap some pics of the ones I purchased once my camera’s operable again!

Next stop was the blog-famous Glory B’s:

business cards 001

Just so you know… that music-lined violin case featured on the French Lique blog is no longer in the shop.  It hadn’t sold, but its owner took it back home.  Beverly always has a beautiful white shop that’s candy for the eyes and easy on the nose.  I almost feel guilty planting my sweaty self inside such a fluffy white haven.  You owe it to yourself to visit her shop. It’s more relaxing than yoga.

Beverly’s business card inspired me to seek some for myself, so … warm off the press, here’s my new card:

business cards 002

The past couple of months have been outstanding in my junking world.  But apparently someone thinks I’m a bit pricey.  I was met with o-v-e-r-p-r-i-c-e-d spelled out of my very own scrabble letters a couple of days ago.  Once the shock wore off, I felt a bit of pity for the poor soul who left the message.  It’s hard to know if he or she was talking specifically about my stuff or the shop in general… you can’t get very detailed when working with scrabble messages.  I think my prices are reasonable.  For example, the mirror below sold recently for $46:

more shop 001

Was it overpriced?  This is a business for me.  I love it, but at the end of the month I need to see a profit.  I don’t try to gouge anyone.  If I buy cheap, I’m able to sell cheaper.  The more I have to pay for something, the higher my prices will be.  That’s the way it goes.  I want my customers to be happy, but I’m not going to, as Alec Baldwin said on an SNL episode, “give my pie away.” 

But in happier news, I can report that my Ouija Board sales are up 200%.  And I just found another board hidden in my storage room!  It’ll go to the shop tomorrow afternoon.  Who knows?  Maybe I’ll get a battery for my camera pre-shop re-do and take a TON of photos tomorrow evening!  Miracles do happen…

Thanks for visiting… come back soon!

2 Responses to “O-v-e-r-p-r-i-c-e-d but Ouija friendly”

  1. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage August 14, 2009 at 7:19 am #

    Kristi, that’s funny what the customer wrote. Maybe they were just having a bad day, who knows. But that mirror wasn’t overpriced. I’ve one similar to it sell for $95. You just find the best places to go. I’m going to have to plan another trip that way, wish it just wasn’t so far! Have fun this weekend finding things, I’m sure you’ll be out like I am.

  2. Sue August 14, 2009 at 8:54 pm #

    Not overpriced! But, I still think it’s funny. Just not when it happens to you….

Leave a Reply

