My pretties…

1 Feb

Finally snapped some photos of my space at Homestead.  The re-do was a long time coming.  Right now there’s only one layaway piece still in my space.  And I really need to purchase more smalls to fill it completely, but it’s on the road to recovery …

Ironically, this piece isn’t in the shop yet!  But…it is a perfect example of irony.  I keep lots of white stuff in the shop, so I thought it only fitting to bring in a brown thing that says “White.”  It’s a White sewing machine cover.  The rubber band’s around it because I had to do some repair work.  It’s in shabby condition, but it’s one of those things I’m drawn to for reasons even I don’t understand.  Bought this baby in Warrenton…LAST spring.  That’s how long I’ve been sitting on it.  Time for it to go to the shop.  Bye-bye, my pretty.

This is, perhaps, my favorite corner of my universe.  I could just sit and stare at it.  I want to move in.  If I had a bed or even a comfy chaise, I might never leave.

Another shot of my comfy corner.  “Feels like home.  I should’ve known from my first breath.” — Martin L. Gore (not talking about my space, of course…)

The curious thing about this photo is why haven’t the old song books sold?  Usually any kind of songbook flies out of the shop. The ones on top of the piano have been in the shop for a few weeks which  leads me to believe some of my regular customers haven’t been in for a while…

Antique baby buggy…old wicker, great wheels … floating on a fluffy petticoat. 

This little desk is another piece I held onto for a little longer — try two years — than I should have.  It’s beautiful.  And it has a place in my living room if it doesn’t sell…even though my living room is mid-century modern.  Go figure.

Ah-ha! Irony at it’s finest:  A baby dress that wasn’t originally brown hanging inside a frame that was originally brown.  What can I say?  If I had a baby girl, framed tea-stained baby clothes would cover the walls in her nursery.

Another C-List purchase.  This one, thankfully, was already white.  It’s petite with aqua paint peeking through in places.

Lovely old etched mirror, thread bundles, zippers…

I’m stopping before I completely wear out my welcome.  It’s all drippy and dreary outside today.  Maybe I should run to the shop for a bit just to gaze at my warm, comfy corner.  May the sun shine down on us soon!  And if you’re painting brown things white, my your paint dry quickly!!

2 Responses to “My pretties…”

  1. Sue LaLumia February 1, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    I REALLY love your displays; you and I are paisanas, I fear. It’s interesting to me that you said “maybe my regular customers haven’t been stopping by.” It gives me hope. I always reckon no one’s interested. And I HEAR YA on having a piece for 2 years. When I know it’s good, I’ll just sit on it, even if it kills me….. XOX

    • junkology February 1, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

      Thanks for the compliment! I do believe we are soul sisters…can’t wait to clean out your Etsy shop… *cough, cough*

Leave a Reply

