Shopping with myself works for me

26 Mar

So today my storage room coughed up a black frame that needed a few touch-ups, an old and crazed oval frame that I spray painted a satiny cream (and you can still see all those fine cracks), and another oval frame with bowed glass and a lovely tinted photograph of a farmhouse and windmill.  AND I was pleased and relieved to discover today that the old cement Easter basket I’ve been gluing back together (yes, I glue cement) this week actually survived a storm last night.  So today I tied a big silk bow around its roughest point, shredded player piano music for filler, and tea-stained some blown out eggs to complete it.  Tomorrow it goes to the shop with the storage room finds.  I think that Easter basket waited in my yard for about a year before I actually decided to fix it.  Sad.  But that’s how I’ve rolled lately.  Like one auctioneer told me, “Lady, you’re always a dollar short.”  He neglected to add “and a day late.” 

And speaking of late, I planned about a month ago to blog about my junking trifecta.  Well there’s no time like the present, so I’ll start now.  First up for your enjoyment is this lovely sideboard I found on Craigslist:

Yeah, it’s huge and chunky and I love it.  But…the really exciting part was meeting the woman who was selling it.  Her home was amazing.  It was built in the 1970s and had a bit of a Spanish architectural flavor for curb appeal.  But when you walked through the front door, you were transported back in time to some wee farmhouse on a river in the middle of nowhere.  Beaded board was everywhere!  Old ceiling tins and even wall paper on the ceiling that looked like tin added to the charm.  I was mesmerized.  And I was too embarrassed to ask if I could take pictures.  But…I did ask for a tour.  Her bedroom was a junker’s fantasy.  She’s a seamstress by trade and had made all her beautiful fluffy beading.  One wall was completely covered in mirrors, with botched silvering and peeling paint.  It was a small room, but she somehow managed to squeeze in three vanities and still have an open feeling.  She had bowls overflowing with silver-plated brushes and with hand-mirrors.  It was to die for.  In one of her living areas, she had a Carol Bolton-designed sofa that she’d bought off C-List for $50.  She had a beautiful chandelier that a friend found for $3 at Goodwill.  She knew how to contain beauty. In a tract house. Unbelievable and highly inspiring.  So if I never sell that chunky sideboard, I’ll always smile when I look at it…and secretly hope she’ll get rid of more goodies in the future!  

Next post (maybe!):  Part II of the Trifecta…my sister’s junk.

3 Responses to “Shopping with myself works for me”

  1. Debra Graham April 26, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    It truly is a small small world. You got to tour Stephanie’s house. She made all of the slipcovers for my white furniture and the curtains in bedroom and living room. Love love love her house. She scored another Carol Bolton Hick’s sofa a couple of weeks ago…to die for. Yes, the bead board is incredible…I so wanted to do that in my family room. And her bedroom…ooh la la! My husband would never ok that one…but it is so neat! Her chandie’s are special too. I kind of remember that you also collect hand mirrors…she has some of the nicest that I have seen. I stepped in her house and knew I was someplace magical. By the way, I also met her when I purchased a chair from her on Craig’s List. Gotta love it!

    • junkology April 26, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

      Things just get stranger and stranger, don’t they? We are our own subculture, for sure!!

  2. Great Craig’s List find!

Leave a Reply

