It’s been a while…though I think I made you smile.

30 Dec

So people keep asking me — okay… ONE VERY IMPORTANT PERSON {who happens to have been honored, like, a minute ago as one of the top antiques bloggers this side of anywhere} asked me — why I stopped blogging. I didn’t really consciously stop, per say. You’ve just been experiencing my latent period. 

All artists have a latent period, right? At least during mine, I didn’t cut off an ear or start painting everything blue.  But my absence was noted, if not in the blogging world, then certainly in the real world.  I had at least one customer call to find out when I’d be delivering new stuff to the shop.  And then, most recently, I ran into a customer who mentioned my “lull” over the summer.  Hmmm.

I’m usually more reliable than I have been, I have to admit.  But since at least one of my fellow bloggers HATES excuses for blog-log, I won’t bore you with the details of my hiatus. Just know it’s over. And commence with your own version of the happy dance. Then when you’re all done with that, sit down and read what I hope will be a fun story for you.  It should be. It’s about me. And it may be about you.

Why I Started Blogging

by Kristi

One night a while back, I was searching online for these two sisters from Oklahoma who used to sell the most amazing upholstered furniture and painted wood stuff in Warrenton. {I’ve since discovered that they no longer sell in Warrenton, but they used to drive down from OK in an 18-wheeler. They were my idols.} Anyway, some search engine directed me to Vintage Sue. And while I never found the information I was looking for, I ended up reading all of her archives and was hooked on blogland.

So I started a blog. On WordPress {that’s where Vintage Sue was at the time}. I didn’t even look at any other sites. I jumped in without having any idea what I was doing. I decided to try to get to know some of these junkers I was reading about.  I added only a couple of names to my blogroll — blogs that grabbed me right off the bat.  Then I got lazy and didn’t add any other names for a while.  The first blogs I added were Dream in Cream and Vintage Rescue Squad.  It was probably Sue’s {VRS} comment about being creeped out by being only one of two blogs on my blogroll that got me to addin’ more. Obviously that didn’t last.  I’m still a lazy blogger. So if you aren’t on my blogroll, I apologize. It’s just how I roll…or don’t roll in this case.

I think I may have been introduced to VRS and Dream in Cream through the blogroll on the Junk Sistas blog.  I was so taken by the warmth of bloggers donating junk for Baby Bella’s cause, that I decided to donate.  And I bought raffle chances. And I was a winner {And as fate would have it, I won something from Dream in Cream}. And it just so happened that the woman who organized the whole fundraiser lives in my same city. In fact we live about two miles apart. Since that time, Amy {of Gypsy Chix and Amy Boland Photography} and I have shared some awesome junking adventures. In real life.  She came to my garage sale recently and got a great deal on a couple of sleds. I scored an awesome chandelier, mirror and some hymnals at her garage sale.  But it was blogland that brought us together.

And I have to mention the charming Mindy Sue of the P {sorry I haven’t updated my blogroll in so long, Mindy!}. She’s one of the few people who actually commented on my blog! Needless to say, I love her for it!  And then I got to meet her in Warrenton. And she even tried to come to my rescue when I was cornered by a talker who was keeping me from precious field time!

I’d be remiss if I didn’t shout out to Janet of Talk Sweet Talk. She may not be on my blogroll, but she will be when I re-vamp this latent blog! I first met Janet in real life. She used to have a booth in the Bermuda Triangle at Cole’s in Warrenton. It would take me FOREVER to find her. And I’d go to Cole’s just. for. her. space. Ironstone. Mmm. WORDS! She fed my paper habit. As it turns out, we live in a small world. My mom actually knows Janet’s brother and probably knows Janet. Long story short, Janet and I are now FB friends and I finally read her blog. {If you aren’t using networked blogs on FB, you should be. It’s so nice.}

Theresa Cano of Garden Antiques is a Goddess looking down on us all  — either that or Santa.  She knows when we’ve been sleeping, she knows when ANY new blog starts. She seems to be everywhere at once. She’s like the blogland junking ambassador.  And she’s nice to me even though I gave her terrible leads on where to junk in San Antonio!  And every time I see Theresa, I reintroduce myself because I’m certain she has no idea who I am in real life. 

So that’s basically my story. How I got started. How I got hooked. And my personal list of top bloggers — a very biased list.  So my new year’s wish for Sue of VRS is that the new year will somehow hold 24 months instead of 12 so we can add to that awesome 2011 calendar. For Mindy, I wish she still had that long, narrow glass cabinet door that I didn’t buy in Warrenton. Because I really want it now! For Amy, I wish that the lighting in the year ahead will be kind to you during photo shoots and that we can be co-pilots on many adventures.  For Tiina, I wish you easy access to your friends’ homes and booths so I can dream vicariously through your blog. For Vintage Sue, I wish you good junking temps so you can fill those Friday Flea treasures to the brim. For Janet, I wish to find you THIS SPRING in your new Marburger digs. And I hope to be there before closing time, unless you’re in another Bermuda Triangle. And for Theresa, I wish that next time I see you at a show {Big Red Barn, Jan. 15}, you might actually know who I am {I’ll be with Amy}.  As you can see these really aren’t wishes for you. These are wishes for me. Because this story is about me. And I’m selfish that way.

The end.

But seriously… I wish all of you in blogland a spectacular year ahead. I hope to get to know more of you out there. And I really appreciate the support from those of you who have me on your blogroll and have left me there even though I’ve been lazy, latent and lulled. I hope you’ll stop by often in the new year and that you’ll give me more stories to tell at the end of 2011.  

LoveYaMeanIt

P.S. There are no links in this post because I still haven’t learned how to do that. Sorry. But please be sure to click on my sidebar blogroll links. You’ll be glad you did.

7 Responses to “It’s been a while…though I think I made you smile.”

  1. Mndy December 31, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    Get out! Now I am feeling guilty because I’ve been slow to blog! You are so danged sweet! Ok. Narrow glass door. The soda door? White metal around glass? Ewww. Yup. That’s gone. If that’s not it…what? You rock! See you in Spring at Zapp. I’ll be there. Will you??? LoveYaMeanIt! ~Mindy

  2. sue December 31, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    You’re a bad, bad blogger! I sentence you to 3 solid days of junking with me in Warrenton. Seriously, I’m honored to be featured here, glad you’ve resolved to continue blogging, and feel like we’re already junking BFFs via Facebook. Can’t wait to meet you. I’ll be descending in TX on 3/31, so clear your schedule!

    XOX

  3. Janet December 31, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    holy moly! i had no idea you blogged or i would have been nagging you all the way from the bermuda triangle! what a precious way you have with WORDS! i have added you to my blog roll so i will be a follower and commenter (i always have something to say) from this point forward! someday i’m going to crash a kristi/amy adventure and tag along…that would be so fun…at least for me! i’ll see you in a few weeks at the barn! i wish for you all your hearts desire in the year and since you had “selfish” wishes i’m joining in the fun as i happen to have one of my own…that you blog on a (semi) regular basis!

  4. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage December 31, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Girl, you are so funny and loved the story. I also love that you said you have to keep reintroducing yourself to me. That’s funny! I know you, I do, I’ve been following you around to see if you are ever going to blog about something, just kidding. I hope you have a wonderful New Years and can’t wait to see you (re-meet you, ha ha) at the Red Barn. PS. That Amy is so much fun to hang around with, I can imagine a road trip with her would be a blast.

  5. amy boland December 31, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    you crack me up!!!! i am so glad that i have a partner in crime & some one to get lost on the back roads with, getting there really is the best part of the adventure right…
    xoxxo to you my friend, & i hope that you have a great new year!!!!

  6. Anne January 1, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Got a chuckle and a smile out of the Theresa Cano reference. She is indeed blogging royalty, isn’t she? And a nicer gal you shall never meet!
    Sounds like we might just bump into each at the Red Barn show in a couple of weeks…and with Amy, no less! yay! I love me a two-fer. 🙂

    Have a wonderful Sunday!
    Anne

  7. Toni Renee January 4, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    Kristi,

    Thanks for your blog – I have enjoyed spending time here.

    I have been online for over a decade but I am so new to the whole blog thing. I happened upon a blog that I got addicted to awhile back and that led me to many other Shabby Chic, Vintage, White stuff, Cottage, Junky chic things, types of blogs and eventually I found yours. I love your honesty and can appreciate your lapse in blogging on a daily / regular basis. It is amazing that people actually post every day on many blogs.

    I have a question: I am having a TINY home-cottage-retreat built. I will be decorating it in white cottage, vintage, shabby junk and I am trying to give myself permission to thow in splashes of pink. There is alot of interest in tiny homes and tiny cozy spaces so I would like to blog about my tiny home, having it built, decorating it and so forth, but where do I start? I am involved in tiny home forums, and I read the tiny home blog but being in the company of women bloggers and reading your experience with blogging allows me to feel more comfortable asking you for suggestions or maybe your readers can send me in the right direction. I mean is there a blog school? Where do I learn the blog speak? Blog Roll, Blog log, ikes I need a blogging for dummies course. I went to blogspot and actually started a blog months ago but it only has one entry as I got overwhelmed. I am not a geek and wonder if I can do it. I mean, I want pink on my background like all you talented ladies in blog land have …. ok, i will settle for a tiny rose in the corner of a black blog, a picture of a tatered white chair, im easy… where do i begin? HOw do I get it? IS there a blog tutor out there reading this? I promise to credit you one day when I get going. I never run out of things to say, its just figuring out how to do it. If there are any blog angels or blog fairy’s out there reading this, please know it is not easy for me to ask for help but this time I have to or I might be the only blogger with one post a year, and you thought you were bad Kristi.

    BTW,, I live near Seattle and am willing to trade or barter services for any help. Thanks. Please forgive me if this is the wrong place to make this above comment. I am just the new girl on the blog block and this seemed like a safe place to ask for ideas and or help.

    Blessings,
    Toni Renee

Leave a Reply

