How I spent my winter vacation

31 Dec

Getting ready for Valentine’s Day already.  There are 70-plus charms on my dining room table waiting to be soldered.  Every time I walk through the dining room, I look at them admiringly, but then I keep on hoofin’ it. I just can’t be motivated to dig out my soldering iron. I’m hoping to complete most of them this weekend, however. And I’m slow. So when I do the math, I think that it could be pushing V-Day before they’re all complete.

I did loads of other things during the winter break. I cleaned out the trunk of my car and rescued a number of goodies to haul to the shop, including some absolutely precious Mrs. Day’s ideal baby shoes. {I planned to keep them since we share the same last name, but I couldn’t figure out what I’d do with them. So I’ll take them to the shop and pair them with cute little baby dresses.}

Also during this two-week vacation, I cooked. I ate. I hosted a nasty bug that irritated my stomach and stole my voice. I celebrated Christmas. I watched movies. In fact, right this very second, I’m missing out on a James Bond movie. Can you believe I would lock myself away on New Year’s Eve blogging while I could be enjoying James Bond? Just so you know, I’m enjoying a little bubbly while I type this, since it’s about time to ring in 2011.  We uncorked early because we know ourselves well enough to know that if we wait to uncork at midnight, we’ll never do it. I always have a hard time staying awake on New Year’s Eve, even though I’m a night owl almost every other day of the year.

Now that was really off-topic wasn’t it? See what happens when I blog TWO DAYS STRAIGHT? 

Happy New Year! May there be loads of junk on your horizon…

2 Responses to “How I spent my winter vacation”

  1. sue January 1, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    I do the “walk on by” thang to, ignoring all the junk that needs attention, so no worries!

  2. Debra January 1, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Happy New Year’s Kristi! So nice to read your blog. It keeps a little bit of me in Texas. While I miss Texas, my Mom, and Sister very much….Arizona is beautiful and I love being around my boys and grandkids (grand young adults actually). I am hoping in this new year to get to the big flea markets in L.A. I’ll let you know if they would be worth you heading out this way for.

    Wishing you continued success and happiness.

    Debra

Leave a Reply

