Pretty {old} pictures

14 Jan

So I decided NOT to be among the 200 or so junkers patiently awaiting  entry into an apartment estate sale yesterday. WRONG DECISION. 

When I arrived shortly after noon, there was no line. And there was hardly anything left. There were a few beautiful pieces of furniture remaining and a handful of smalls.  I had been told that everything in the sale was from the late 1800s and early 1900s — right down my alley. But I couldn’t be there early, so I waited.

AND YET… for some reason, there was some beautiful Victorian-era ephemera mysteriously left behind. FOR ME:  Victorian Christmas cards, the likes of which I’ve never seen in person. A German Bible from 1864. A tiny German book in mint condition from 1844.  Old postcards, calling cards {in German}, and quite a few photos. 

Just take a look at this:

All that writing, that teensy tiny writing… straight lines…fountain pen…dated 1903. Who could manage that? On a good day I can’t write like that. And the writing is so microscopic, I don’t think I could read it even if it were in English.

Here’s the flipside:

There’s something to be said for penmanship, for certain. 

I don’t know how many of the pieces I purchased yesterday will end up in the shop.  My mom visited today and took some of the photos with her. They’ll be in my far-away space. But I told her I wasn’t sure I could let them go…yet. But then I did.

When I die, my kids will probably be so confused, trying to decide which photos are old family photos and which ones “were just Mom’s obsessions.”

The higher the hat, the closer to Heaven?

Happy weekend…see you in Round Top Sunday?

2 Responses to “Pretty {old} pictures”

  1. sue January 15, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    Hilarious, but I do believe the saying is “the higher the HAIR…” In fact, I have a poster affirming that. Do tell about Red Barn!

  2. Janet January 15, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    that’s okay girlfriend….you needed to save your dollars for the barn! see you tomorrow! safe travels!

Leave a Reply

