Beauty and the beast

7 Feb

I wouldn’t exactly call today a do-nothing day, yet it’s far from productive. So what do I do? Blog, of course!

Take a gander at my newest addition to my Homestead space:

What do you think? It’s a CUBBY! And it’s GREEN!!

And to go with all those baby shoes in the cubby, I couldn’t resist stamping “she’s expecting” on muslin and hanging it with a Christening dress:

Speaking of babies, two of the women who work at Homestead are about to be grandmothers for the first time.  I guess love is in the air!

The next picture is from the space that belongs to my pals Dawn and Sari Jane. Their wares are always so lovely. The dress form and the hanging lamp are their creations:

And finally…if you’ve had your fill of sweet, here are some new industrial pieces I took to Homestead yesterday:

I should stop right there, but my big mouth won’t let me. I feel burdened by a truth I need to let out.  It’s a tip, actually, for my fellow dealers who momentarily lose their collective minds when faced with extraordinary junk. It’s the thorn to the junking rose. The beauty’s beast:

TIP: Even if you’re in love with a piece — especially if you’re in love with a piece — and think it would be ab-fab in YOUR space, don’t plead desperately for a low price. AND…whatever you do, don’t add “but I’m a dealer, and I need to be able to re-sell this,” during negotiations.  Here’s the deal. We all fall in love with junk.  And we all have a right to ask, in a calm, rational way, if the price on our current fixation is the best price.  But when we’re told that the price is firm, we should smile and say thanks. It is an insult to hear “but I’m a dealer,” as a response. Because guess what? I’m a dealer, too. Don’t imply that you’re higher up the junking food chain than I am.  And guess what else? I’m not about to drop my price just so you can get your desired profit. I mark down when I mark down. I offer deals when I’m comfortable. But I do both carefully, taking my business and its bottom line into consideration. I’m not at all concerned about your bottom line.

Another no-no for ALL buyers looking for a better deal: “I see the price, but it hasn’t sold at that price. Why won’t you take less?” or “I want this. But I’m not willing to pay X. I’ll give you Y.”

Now I know none of my gentle readers would do any sort of thing. But in desperate times, we can all lose our heads…

Keepin’ calm and carryin’ on…

5 Responses to “Beauty and the beast”

  1. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage February 7, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Well said and I’ll even give you an amen!! Now, can you please email me the price of the green cubby. And remember, I’m a dealer, ha ha sorry I couldn’t resist. Uh oh, I think the price just doubled 🙂

  2. MoniQ in WI February 7, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    I always ask, with a smile: Is this your friendliest price? (And I’m not a dealer–getting closer to a hoarder….)

  3. sue February 7, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    This past week, once again, a buyer asked for 1/3 off. Harumph. I wadded up his phone number.

    I’m glad you posted about this!

  4. Junker Newbie Stephanie February 10, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Great pics and well said!

  5. Nancy February 11, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    That is precisely what happened to me yesterday. A woman approached me and asked for 40% off a piece. Do these people think we are making a killing on this junk?

Leave a Reply

