Some days, it’s the little things

15 Feb

It may be gloomy outside, but inside it’s bright and shiny in my soul because of this:

I got all smiley this morning as I prepared to take my son to school. You see, I temporarily had forgotten that I’m now carrying a NEW BAG that I purchased at Urban Market in Houston on Saturday!  So when I went to grab my keys and my purse…there she was, all beautiful and handy and waiting just for me!

My old bag, which was years in the making, totally cramped my style. It was handmade by a friend of mine out of fabric remnants I found at Binky La Faye long, long ago.  But it didn’t work for me at all.

This new bag, however, has my name written all over it. From the hand-stamped vintage grain sack to the newsboy style, it is sheer joy on a long shoulder strap! I’m sure I’ll be sporting it at Warrenton, since it’s a bit less fragile than the OTHER bag I bought at Urban Market from Meloney Russell of The Seed Box Antiques. {More on THAT buy later.}

February truly is the month of love around my house. I recently celebrated my 21st wedding anniversary. Then, of course, yesterday was V-Day. And if that alone isn’t enough, my elder son turns 17 next week.  But…I have a confession to make. I’ve been crushing all month long on Ms. February. Check out this beauty:

Smitten, I believe, is the word that best describes how she makes me feel. And she can be found in Vintage Rescue Squad’s Dreaming of Junking calendar. If you don’t own one, make plans now to order one from the VRS Etsy shop  for 2012! It’s the most beautiful thing in the whole wide junking world.

Wishing you miles of smiles this week…

3 Responses to “Some days, it’s the little things”

  1. amy February 15, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    can’t wait for our next junking adventure, i had so much fun!!!! that bag totally RoCkS!!! 🙂

  2. Junker Newbie Stephanie February 15, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    LOVE the bag!

  3. Jackie Sharbrough February 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Great bag! Thank you for coming out to The Urban Market! Hope to see you again in May!
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

