The stamp set

22 Feb

Sunday I happened upon a find that made me so giddy I literally jumped up and down. For probably an entire minute. I even considered throwing caution to the wind and hugging the seller, paying no mind to the sweat stains on his T-shirt.  But…I came to my senses. And calmed down.

This is what caused all the excitement:

A complete set of stamps, in the original wooden box — all for a bargain price.  And I just happened to have something that would complement these stamps perfectly:

Stamping kits. Oh, how I love them. Old ink. Old stamp pad. Ready and waiting for some vintage stamps.

Only the marriage was never meant to be.

As I was working on my space later Sunday afternoon, some really nice women stopped by. I pulled the stamps out from under a pile of junk, and they were as excited as I had been. Bought them on the spot. I hadn’t even had time to give proper love to my purchase.  It was a bittersweet moment. 

Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE to sell. But when you buy what you love, sometimes you experience a bit of separation anxiety.  The good news, of course, is that there are always more treasures out there waiting to be discovered.

Bring on the good junk!

One Response to “The stamp set”

  1. sue February 23, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    Oh, how I love these!!! I always price them high so I can hold onto them as long as possible….

Leave a Reply

