Jolly green bench

23 Feb

My friend Shelly gets all her paint from the oops section at that big orange hardware store. I was dumbfounded the day she confessed this sin to me. Every room of her former house was painted with someone else’s mistakes. I, on the other hand, was unaware such a section existed. I’m more the type you see staring in awe at all the amazing colors available for mixing. Shelly’s palette is much narrower, consisting only of that which wasn’t quite spot on.

I’ve lived in my house for almost seven years.  And when it comes to decorating, I like to think I’m letting my house dictate to me what exactly needs to be done. {That’s my story anyway.}

If walls could talk, however, I’m sure they’d be screaming, “Just pick a color already! This is getting embarrassing!”  You see, I still haven’t finished painting the living room, or the laundry hall, or two bathrooms. Even our hallway is unfinished, as is the master bedroom.  I’m not much of a finisher {no surprise to those who know me well}. And commitment is hard for me. Especially when it comes to color. {Maybe that’s why I tend to stick to painting furniture either cream or black.}

But I was happy with myself for picking, fairly quickly I might add, a color to paint a bench I picked up at an estate sale last week. It has already been painted, distressed and hauled to its temporary home in the newly colorful section of my space at Homestead:

 I think it turned out okay. I wasn’t totally pleased with the color, but I didn’t have time to tone it down with gel stain. So it is what it is.

That being said, I did ask for color suggestions on my business Facebook page. {I didn’t want to commit to a color without some sort of validation!}

So if you’re on FB and would like an easy way to keep up with my shop shenanigans, please visit me here. I don’t want you to miss out on a thing! And it is such a friendly, easy way to communicate. 

I may even begin offering some FB specials for my customers.

But probably not too soon. I just can’t quite commit!

One Response to “Jolly green bench”

  1. Mindy February 23, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    OK. So, as I was reading about your home and your inability to commit, I kept peeking at the picture. And I saw peg board. And I prayed, out loud, that you did NOT have peg board in your home. Praise the Lord, you don’t! Ok. I saw the bench on fb and had no input, but I think you did fine without me. I like it a lot! ~Mindy

Leave a Reply

