I have a tale to tell …

5 Apr

This is a tale from the fields of Warrenton, from the lips of a dealer I’ve shopped with before. It’s a spooky tale … so don’t do what I did and read this after seeing the late showing of Insidious.

It all started with an offer of a pickup load of junk in exchange for $20. Who would pass up that deal? But after some of the items were in the shop, this particular dealer started hearing whispers of complaints growing louder.

About a certain room.

About objects moving around.

In hindsight, she remembers things sometimes being in places she didn’t thing they belonged when she’d open the shop early mornings.  Word had gotten around. Ghost busters arrived. A psychic offered up a handful of items to the dealer, telling her a girl was attached to them. They were the items causing the “disturbance.” The girl loved music.

{As I’m making a purchase from this dealer, she’s telling me this story. So I said, “Please don’t tell me I’m buying one of the items.” Whew. I wasn’t.}

After blowing off the whole thing for a while, the dealer decided to call her dad. He’d been the one to hook her up with the sweet purchase. She asked him if he knew anything about the family that lived in the house where they’d picked.

He told her they’d had a daughter go missing when she was a young girl. She used to love to listen to music and would at times venture out to hear live music. One night she never came home. He told her the article was in a scrapbook she had purchased.

The scrapbook I was purchasing at the time.

It has been in my car ever since, but last night my son and I brought it in after seeing Insidious.

We searched for the article.

We found it.

My son slept with his bedroom door open.

I’m still creeped out today.

That being said, it’s a great scrapbook from the 1940s, with school pictures, wedding announcements, war death announcements.  I’m thinking of including this tale — however tall it may be — on the price tag when I take it to the shop.

I love a good story. Don’t you?

3 Responses to “I have a tale to tell …”

  1. robelyn April 6, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    oh my GOSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE this story!!!! LOL I have goosebumps!!!!!

    ;-D robelyn

  2. amy April 7, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    ok that is priceless!!!!! XoXxo

  3. Suzanne April 7, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    I would sell it quick! 😉

Leave a Reply

