My Warrenton splurge

13 Apr

image

image

image

Somewhere near a footbridge close to Bar W Field, I stumbled across a booth filled with vintage bus route banners. Oh, the palpitations!  I could’ve spent hours browsing the selection, but, alas, I was smitten with a route banner from Scotland.  As time was short, I promised I’d be back the next day to fetch a pillow and, quite possibly, the Scotland route banner.

When I arrived the following afternoon, the dealer had the banner all ready for me.  He said he was pretty sure I’d be back, so he hadn’t sold it to a woman who had stopped by earlier in the day and was making a massive purchase. But she planned to take it if I was a no-show.

{This is just one of the million reasons why I love Warrenton. Dealers trust you.  I had to go back to another booth earlier in the week, and that dealer had held something for me, just like she’d promised.  Warrenton is FULL of awesome dealers like this.}

This was Home Economics’  first Warrenton show. He said he’ll be back, and I certainly hope he means it.

He uses the banners for other things, too: pillows (like the one I purchased that’s pictured above), clothing (!), upholstery…

J Crew purchased, at one point, 100 of his banners for their window displays. And the windows were so catchy, that they left them unchanged for an abnormally long amount of time.

I can’t tell you how thrilled I was to make this purchase. Is it ironic that I sell reproductions, but seek out originals for myself?

5 Responses to “My Warrenton splurge”

  1. robelyn April 13, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    seriously.

    i want to shop with you. i WANT ONE OF THOSE!!!!

    ;-D

  2. Jennifer April 13, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Great shopping! I love your pillow!!!!

  3. sue April 13, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Are they really original? If so, YOU ROCK! I nearly plotzed in PA this weekend when I saw one, but on closer inspection, it was a repro. ARG!!!

  4. Junker Newbie Stephanie April 14, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    LOVE! So how do you know if they are originals?

  5. Janet April 14, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    you did not. love these!

Leave a Reply

