Happy Fiesta Friday

15 Apr

image

image

Today the entire city of San Antonio is on holiday. I look at it as a pre-payment for the hellish weather we’ll be enduring in the months ahead. It’s gonna be a long, hot one. We’re already in extreme drought and on once-a-week watering restrictions.

But Fiesta gives us a 10-day reprieve. It started out long ago as a historical celebration of the Battle of San Jacinto. It’s morphed into a giant grease-laden party.

I’m no history buff, but I do appreciate the survival of old stuff. The photos above are of a recent attempt by me to piece together a document that was in the pocket of an old bag I purchased. As you can see, pieces are missing. It’s still an object of art in my eyes, however.

Hope you have an amazing weekend … even if you’re not planning to celebrate history by eating something deep fried and on a stick.

2 Responses to “Happy Fiesta Friday”

  1. robelyn April 15, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    OH!!! Are you going to the parade?! If so – watch for “McGregor HS” – we’re talking little bitty band! One of those trombone players is my baby! Well… he’s really tall… and 16… but still. He’s my baby.

    I love your work of art!!! Have fun! Watch the parade so you can report in to me!!!

    ;-D Happy Friday!
    robelyn

  2. debbie york April 16, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    Only in Texas is deep fried something on a stick considered a delicacy! Long live Texas!!!
    Debbie

Leave a Reply

