The marriage of old and new

20 Apr

image

image

The topic of mixing in new wholesale items with antiques has raised its conflicted head once again. And of course I have an opinion! I always have an opinion.

I do it.
Therefore it’s a fantastic idea!

Much like pickles and peanut butter sandwiches, chocolate-covered bacon or even my marriage, the idea might at first blow your mind in a shocked way before it blows it in a “far out” ah-ha moment.

The careful pairing of old and new can work. I think the pictures above prove it. In both photos, I’ve mixed in Peacock Park Design merch with chippy old stuff. (NOT THAT kind of Chippy.)

The secret to successful mixing, according to me, is to do it selectively. It’s simple: Don’t put in too much wholesale at one time. Make sure the new merch complements the vintage stuff you carry. Don’t get carried away by the ease of buying with a click of the mouse (versus the sweaty hauling of vintage wares). Never try to pass off reproductions as the real deal.
Stay true to your vision…and to your customers, who may not understand the beauty of chocolate-covered bacon.

3 Responses to “The marriage of old and new”

  1. Jennifer April 20, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Oh I so agree with you! My home is full of heirlooms that have been in our families for generations as well as items we’ve found new and liked. I think they complement each other. And, if I may say, your booth is just beautiful! What you are doing works!!
    Jennifer

  2. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage April 20, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Well said… just not too sure about the chocolate covered bacon 🙂

  3. Suzanne Sexton April 20, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    I’m with ya- great to mix old and new—- they look beautiful together! I’ve never tried the choc bacon combo…..

Leave a Reply

