Back to work

24 Aug

image

image

image

image

image

Man, I have stood idle far too long. A mere 10 minutes into revamping my wee space, I had already sliced two (important) fingers. One on each hand. You’ve probably seen versions of me and judged harshly. Go ahead. Kick me while I’m down. My game is so off!

Still, somehow, I managed to paint three whole pieces before the heat beat me down and while I still had full-functioning fingers.

Testimonial: I painted with Annie Sloan chalk paint today. I tried not to let myself spend $38 on a quart and $20-something on wax. I’ll admit I was curious, so I paid the piper after hearing only good things from Highly Experienced Furniture Painters. I tried to be skeptical, and may have succeeded through the first coat. It seemed like any other paint. BUT… WOW… the second coat went on so well that I started to rationalize the expense. (Surely there is monetary value in skipping the line, attitudes and wait at the big orange store?) And I love wax. Pretty much all kinds. But I really love the smell of paste wax, even though the instructions warn you NOT TO INHALE THE FUMES. So I rationalized again. After all, everyone who’s anyone knows that smelling and inhaling are two entirely different things.

In the end, Annie Sloan won me over. (You know how she is.) Maybe I was fume-affected. All I know for sure is that this paint covers well with no prep, dries quickly and sands easily. And there’s really not much more that you can ask of a paint, is there? Well…you can ask it to pick up a brush and get moving, but then everyone will know you’ve been breathing in fumes and your wax card may very well be revoked. I say don’t chance it.

5 Responses to “Back to work”

  1. Suzanne Sexton August 24, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Look at you back to work!!! I’m loving the look- The paper flowers are mighty fun might I say!!!
    Ok— I ReaLLY like the Turq pin cushion……hint hint- pass the price to me please! 😉
    The baby boot just made me tear- wow- what a precious item!
    So sorry about the fingers— mine are suffering from hot glue still!

  2. Jana August 24, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Looking good. I worked on mine last Wed night. I smashed a thumb with a hammer, so I guess that makes us “sisters in pain”. 🙂 Love the pin cushion and the baby shoe. I can tell that we are kindred spirits in our taste and enthusiasm for what we do. I hope to add new pictures to my Facebook page soon. God Bless and carry on.

  3. debbie york August 24, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    So what you’re telling me is you never inhaled…right?
    I’m like you…I keep hearing the glowing reports, so I think I may get a quart and give it a go. If nothing else, it’s cheaper than Grey Goose and maybe I won’t get a hangover.
    Deb
    P.S. Are your fingers ok?

  4. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage August 25, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Wow, too much action going on the junkology household! Hope you are ok and definately on the mend by Warrenton. I know you’ll be, junkin wouldn’t stop you or me either. I’ll call you later today! Hey, it’s raining in my neck of the woods, how about yours, woo hoo…

  5. Beth Leintz August 25, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    I’ve never tried the Annie Sloan paint but share your belief about the virtue of not waiting in line at the big orange store. Where do you get it?

Leave a Reply

