I’m not worthy…

15 Sep

Please picture me, down on my knees, face to the floor, arms outstretched, bowing repeatedly and muttering, “I’m not worthy, I’m not worthy.”  Because that’s what I’ll be doing come September 26, when I’ll be lunching with 34 fellow bloggers AND Rachel Ashwell at Rachel’s new B&B, The Prairie, in Round Top, Texas.

Photo courtesy, The Prairie by Rachel Ashwell

How in the world did this happen? Is that what you’re wanting to know?  Yeah, me too. The dumpsters were aligned just perfectly, I guess. So…cell phone camera at the ready, I’ll be heading that way in just a couple of weeks. Whew. Time to start figuring out what to wear.

I already had one friend, Suzanne of The Girls at Rusted Gingham, offer to accessorize me. While I’m sure she was meaning that she would be my finest accessory, it could be that she’s worried about what I’ll wear.  I was considering white, since I rocked it so hard at Janet of Sweet Talk/Rubbish fame’s birthday party during the last antiques week show. (But, alas, it’s long past Labor Day.)

OR…I thought about going as Rachel herself, circa spring 2011, where she so gracefully hid behind sunglasses and a turban. The look is *so* six months ago now, that it doesn’t even matter that I couldn’t pull it off.

SO…I’ve decided I should let YOU dress me.  Yep…wouldn’t it be fun to walk The Prairie Red Carpet in Antiques Week’s finest?  For instance, as it stands, I could easily say my shirt was Virgins, Saints and Sinners or Saddle Tramp. I could be wearing an original Meloney Russell bag. I might be sporting a Mendy Metrani flower in my hair, on my lapel or on my wrist.  Jewelry? That would be a harder decision. I could choose to wear a Maggie of the Veranda’s spoon necklace. I also have a Red Neck Chic wrist cuff. More Virgins, Saints and Sinners jewels are in my box as well.  Plus tons of assembled pieces from the likes of  I can’t remember! Oh! And just today I ordered the sweetest wrist tutu from Duct Tape and Denim.

Image courtesy of Duct Tape and Denim and NOT the bracelet I ordered, but aren’t these TDF?

Decisions, decisions.

BUT, fear not, as fun as it was, I will not be sporting my own petticoat JUNKtion vintage photo creation.

Me with Queen Marsha…look at the petticoat. Look only at the Petticoat!

It worked for Paper Cowgirl, but I’m not thinking this will be the time or the place.

We’ll be feasting from a Bud Royer menu, and a portion of the proceeds from the lunch will benefit Dwell with Dignity

We’ll be shopping in Rachel’s brand spanking new store…

I’ll be surrounded by rock star bloggers, including two of my favorite Theresas.

One of my favorite Theresas and me, dressed in Saddle Tramp finery: Image courtesy of  Donna Goss

The afternoon will be spectacular, no matter what duds I choose. Right? RIGHT?

And if I can’t decide on an outfit, I can always sell my seat on Ebay. Right?

Just kidding.

Stay tuned for all the juicy details. You know I’ll be shooting some Junklandia self-portraits like these:

Yep. You get the picture! All kinds of fun…that’s what I’ll be having for lunch.

11 Responses to “I’m not worthy…”

  1. debbie york September 15, 2011 at 5:46 am #

    Ha Ha!
    Just say the word girl…there’s still room in my suitcases for that party hat if you’re hinting to borrow it!
    Now I’m wishing I had signed up so’s lI could have what your having!
    Debbie

  2. sue September 15, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    1. Insanely jealous
    2. Debbie, why on earth aren’t you going? Hell, I considered flying in just for the lunch!!!
    3. Kristi, you’ll look fab!

  3. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage September 15, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    I’m so excited, I just can’t hide it, oh never mind that’s a song… Well you know what I’m trying to say!!!!!!!!!! Can’t wait girl.

  4. Suzanne Sexton September 15, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Well- I would seriously be your personal accessory….. but no really– we do have a lot of goodies if you need anything- just say the word! Maybe little miss Pink Sterling Cowgirl will send you one of her own personal hair or lapel flower pins….they are all the rage!
    By the way- don’t bow down…..not necessary- she is a creation just like the rest of us- and now she wants to spend time in Texas- that says she wants to be like us! ;-0

  5. Cindy September 15, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Oh man…you dog you! 🙂 I saw that and could not find anyone to go with, so I did not sign up. Well, you will just have to name drop when I see you next. 🙂

    -c

    PS…for the record…I think you SHOULD wear the Prom skirt. 🙂

  6. Gloria Burson September 15, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    I can’t wait to meet you there! I can tell you are going to be a whole lot of fun!

  7. Time Worn Interiors September 16, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    Girl I know your gonna have a great time!
    tot

  8. Sharon Mankin September 17, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Pinching myself, too! Can’t wait to meet you there!

  9. Tracy Smith September 18, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Kristi, you crack me up! Since Ms Ashwell is being so generous in offering to let her 34 closest blogging friends join her for lunch, perhaps she would be equally as generous with her own personal accessories. I think it would be the ultimate compliment to message her and ask to borrow the turban. That would certainly endear her to you, as only the closest of friends would share towels.

    I’m thinking I have a photoshop opportunity with a towel coming shortly . . .

  10. Keely Marie Scott September 20, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Excited to meet you out on the prairie! Can’t wait to see those accessories So CUTE!! We will have OH So much FUN! see you SOON!

  11. cindy craine September 26, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Ola’ chica! Little did I know I was meeting a movie staaar tonight. I’ve been to your blog like a zillion times, I just didn’t know this was you! See that’s why we need a blog directory! Did u sign up? Isn’t Amy just the sweetest woman on earth! But after meeting her mom, no wonder! You were a blast to spend time with. I hope to see you again soon!
    Oh friend me on facebook to see those photos, cindy Dix Craine!

Leave a Reply

