The only thing better than pie from Royer’s?

4 Oct
image

Tote bag I purchased at The Shabby Chic Couture shop, on the grounds of The Prairie, along with my autographed copy of Rachel's new book

image

My friend, who shall remain nameless, couldn't figure out how to turn my cell phone into a camera. Finally, Rachel suggested we go inside as she was starting to sweat! Luckily, my friend had snapped this photo. She just hadn't realized it!

image

Shabby Chic Couture shop

image

Inside the Shabby Chic Couture shop

image

Peely paint and chandeliers...what Texas shabby chic is made of

image

Shabby Union Jack pillow

image

And to play fair, there must be a Texas pillow, too!

image

Rachel Ashwell, signing my book. (It has an error that I'm hoping to cash in on some day. Just kidding about that last part.)

image

This painting, or one like it, is on the cover of Rachel Ashwell's new book

image

Doesn't this look like a pleasant day to be alive and in Texas? Don't let the photo fool you. It was hot. And I don't mean haute or even hawt.

image

I decided my niche is "the cell phone blogger." This is a self-portrait with Bud Royer. I'm still not good with my new cell phone, sadly.

image

Inspirational corner behind where I dined

image

My view during lunch -- Retreauxgirl and Garden Antqs Vintage

image

Famous cake, used as a prop in "winning" celebrity weddings of J-Lo and Pam Anderson

image

Dresses. As art. Beautiful.

image

The brains behind Dwell with Dignity.

image

Buck, after he'd been given the Rachel treatment

image

Rachel Ashwell tote -- I'm giving this baby away to a lucky reader!

The only thing better than Royer’s pie is sharing one with someone. I had the opportunity last week to dine with fellow bloggers at Rachel Ashwell’s new bed and breakfast, The Prairie, in Round Top, Texas. Yes, we shared pie. We also shared a bit of laughter, I think, as Rachel charmed our socks off with her British accent. (Who else can say “menopausal years” and make you want to join her there?)

But back to the pie… This luncheon was, in part, the brainchild of Bud Royer. He’s been working with the non-profit Dwell with Dignity, based in Dallas, providing pies to families fortunate enough to be assisted by the organization. He wanted to do something to help the non-profit. So while Rachel Ashwell graciously hosted us, Dwell with Dignity benefited from the proceeds.

Many of us are fortunate enough to wake up surrounded by beauty on a regular basis. We are fairly certain where our next meal will come from. But so many others are in a different boat. That’s where Dwell with Dignity comes in. They design beautiful homes for families and even provide a meal — including pie — for move-in day. They leave food in a crock pot and even stock the pantries in the homes they create. But they can’t do it alone.

I’m putting together an Antiques Week giveaway, which includes the Rachel Ashwell tote bag shown in the last photo of this post. If you’re interested in winning this giveaway, all you need to do is leave me a comment, letting me know. The winner will be chosen randomly October 10. So comment before the 10th for a chance to win.

BUT…I’m going to ask something of you as well. I’d like you to visit the Dwell with Dignity site and make a donation if you’re able and believe it’s a worthy cause. They’d be happy with ANY amount. And let me know if you do donate. The more donations they receive, the bigger this giveaway will become. You’ve  got six days, and I’ve got other stuff just waiting to be added to the giveaway. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the photos from my time at The Prairie. The photos in this post are from my cell phone. Real photos to come soon.

Thanks, in advance, for considering giving to Dwell with Dignity.

7 Responses to “The only thing better than pie from Royer’s?”

  1. The Hidden List (@thehiddenlist) October 4, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    So glad that you could come! Great job on your post! Let’s all keep in touch! I love that you’re jumping in with a fun give-away!
    Since I was involved with this event, please exclude my name from the give-away and give someone else the opportunity…just wanted to say “Great job!” XO!

  2. Terri October 4, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    I want to be a winner! Beautiful blog!!

  3. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage October 4, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Anonymous, good friend you are 🙂 Great giveaway too and donations are for a great cause. Since I have a bag please don’t include me, but I wanted to comment anyways. I hope whoever wins it really enjoys it!! I so enjoyed the day with you.

  4. Lori October 5, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    Oh I was there (Royers and Antique Week). Pie amazing by the way and the steak. I have a whole post of Teresa’s booth. A friend of mine Dana, also was at the lunch, she lives a few streets over from me. She made your name tag by the way. I need to go and follow you now, saw you blog surfing at jebs.

  5. Lisa Love Harris (@txgardencat) October 6, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    Oh, Kristi!! Thanks for this incredible post — the beauty of Rachel’s home/new shop are breath-taking, but even more beautiful is the opportunity to create a beautiful home for someone less fortunate!! Thanks to you, Rachel, and each person who made this event possible — so now we can all be aware of Dwell with Dignity. I don’t want to be included in the giveaway — I just want you to know how awesome it is to know about this organization — am checking it out and will give what I can. Thanks for sharing this and most of all, the beauty and love you’re willing to share with others. Peace, love, and sharing with Dwell with Dignity — 🙂
    xxoos

  6. Tracy Smith October 7, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Kristi – loved our visit today! You always brighten a room and make me laugh! Can’t wait for more folks to meet you and fall in love with your stuff at the Barn Sale! So glad you are going to spend the day with us!

    OK, if you select my comment, then that pretty tote will be going to my Rachel daughter. She had a piano tote that just broke this last week. We need a new one, and Rachel Ashwell’s fancy tote would be a tremendous step-up from what she was using. She would be thrilled with it!
    Tracy

  7. suzannesexton October 7, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    The pic of you and Bud cracks me up! I want to know what that tiered wedding cake was made from- it looks awesome!!!
    I’m so glad you were able to experience the Dwell with Dignity ladies- I will definitely look into donating to that worthy cause!! Thanks for sharing them with us!!!

    Suzanne@RustedGingham

Leave a Reply

