Getting ready for the barn sale

24 Oct
image

before the mum was added

image

Fun with a heat gun, wax and tulle. I LOVE the resulting effect.

image

When I look at this photo, I can SMELL the beeswax. Or maybe I can smell it because it's in the same room with me!

image

Plain and simple

image

mum-ified

image

The mum is a paper base with fabric streamers and center. A brad through the middle holds some of it together. That and hot glue.

I’m selling at a show for the first time in less than two weeks. So, naturally, I made a lampshade today! And even though it looked quite fine all minimal, I decided to use my new-found mum-making skills and embellish it.

Just in case you’re curious, I took pages from a hymnal and dipped them in beeswax. Next, I used gel medium to affix the pages to the drum shade. Then, I used more wax to apply a tulle overlay. And finally, I used a heat gun to redistribute the wax and age the tulle with holes, a la Tarnished and Tattered (who called me a loser, when she realized she wasn’t on my blogroll. We all know she’s kidding!!). I topped the shade with a strip of muslin, then hot glued the mum I learned how to create at Jennifer Babcock‘s Petticoats on the Prairie class onto the shade.

Hope you like it!

8 Responses to “Getting ready for the barn sale”

  1. Suzanne Sexton October 24, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    lovin lovin it!!! The mum really sets it off!!!!! we were covering some lamp shades in little girls flowers she has been making! ;-0 Cannot wait to see all your goodies!

  2. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage October 24, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    That’s the reason I called you last week was to find out if you were going to be at this sale. I tried to call you back but the call wouldn’t go through and then I got busy? So hope you have a great sale!

  3. Tracy Smith October 24, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Kristi – better make more than one of these! Love it. Beautiful. 12 days and counting till the Barn Sale!!!

    • Janie Conley October 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

      I like it very much. We just loaded up everything from Petticoats and put it in Leeann and Gene’s trailer. We’ll probably some things, pack some cookbooks and then head Rusted Gingham’s way. Leeann and I are really looking forward to some “girl” time on this road trip!

  4. Malisa October 24, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    You are one talented woman! Don’t know how you find the time between all your shopping trips! 🙂

    Malisa

  5. Time Worn Interiors October 25, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    Good Luck! Hope you have a great show!
    tot

  6. Elaine Reinhard-Lang October 25, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    Sisters’ Treasures is very excited about joining the other vendors at the Barn Sale in Gonzales. You can check us out to see the “treasures” that we will be bringing. We feature an eclectic collection of retro, vintage and up-cycle items. Betsy and I are looking forward to being at the Barn Sale.

  7. Lisa Love Harris (@txgardencat) October 25, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    LOVE THIS LAMPSHADE!! How cool! And yes, Tracy is correct — you’re going to need more than one of these babies! Good luck and Happy Sales at the BARN SALE!! I know it’ll be awesome!! (Only sorry I’m not there too.) Peace, love, and happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

