Junkology, a.k.a. Checkered Past, takes it on the road

6 Nov
image

In the beginning...all the stuff had to get unloaded to get to the walls, packed flat on the bottom of the minivan.

image

Can you believe I willingly used PEGBOARD? I may have become a fan.

image

Still in mess mode

image

Getting better

image

I also used a cardboard wall between the pieces of pegboard. That's what is behind the linen.

image

So close to finishing, it hurts! I still had paintings to put on the back ledge, a bit of pricing left to do, and a few items to arrange.

image

Welcome!

image

The other side... NO ribbon OR Baja pots sold.

image

Just look at that beautiful pegboard!!

image

At the last minute, I squeezed in a card table from home. Good thing.

image

Loved the lamp lighting. It was worth all the extension cords and crawling on the floor!

image

Lots of white

image

A nod to Christmas

image

The corner of letters

image

Old pharmacy prescription book, some dated 1908.

image

Pretty woman

image

Shoppers seemed to enjoy all the old photos.

image

Came home with ALL my test tubes

image

Shopper: How much is this fur? Me: 35. Shopper: 35 hundred?! Me: 35 dollars. (And she still didn't buy it!)

image

Frames were big sellers.

Like most things in my life, my feelings for this junk show biz can best be explained through words penned by Depeche Mode songwriter/ singer Martin Gore:

Like a cat dragged in from the rain, who goes straight back out to do it all over again…I’ll be back for more.

The barn sale was a blast. Don’t know how soon I’ll hit the road again, but there is talk of a possible Accumulations show in February. Friends in a field of junk is certainly tempting during the junk void that is winter.

All the photos in this post are from my space at the barn sale. And yes, they are cell phone photos! That, my friends, is my niche! Amy Boland was the official event photog, so watch her blog for the complete and pretty picture. I’ll post photos of fellow vendors soon. So much talent in one big barn!

8 Responses to “Junkology, a.k.a. Checkered Past, takes it on the road”

  1. sue November 6, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Kristi, it looks great! Can’t wait to hear more!!! Isn’t it crazy what sells, and what doesn’t?

  2. LaDon Paige November 6, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    Kristi, I love your booth and the way it is decorated!! I especially love the leather handled purses! Did you get those in Colorado City!! LOL
    LaDon
    The Peculiar Peacock!

  3. rose (Shabby Chicas) Homestead November 6, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I can’t believe all this stuff came out your van. You did a fantastic job on your booth space. I hope your sales were great. c’ya soon fellow Homesteader!

  4. Malisa November 6, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    You know I want to dig in that pile of photos! Can’t believe I missed it, but I am convinced I made the right decision.

  5. Sisters Treasures (@SistersTreasure) November 6, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Kristi, your booth did look great. I’m glad you had a good show. We enjoyed meeting you. Betsy of Sisters Treasures

  6. Theresa-Garden Antqs Vintage November 7, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    I was waiting on pics šŸ™‚ You had a load fursure? My question is, did you have an almost empy van. Call me later if you get a chance, T

  7. Tracy Smith @ Rusted Gingham November 7, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Kristi – you make the most beautiful messes I’ve ever seen! Your booth was over the top. You were definitely the ‘cool’ of the cool corner – and I’m so glad it was such a fun weekend. We LOVED having you with us and thank you so much for your smiles and great attitude. You’re the best!

  8. robelyn November 7, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Girlfrien’… I’d have taken the fur. The sasquatch might get cold in the spring and i could keep him warm.

    Oh how I wish I wish I wish I could have been there to see your pegboard! No, I mean – YOU!!! ALL of it looks FANTASTIC!!!

    ;-D

Leave a Reply

