When you’re alone, and life is making you lonely, you can always go…

5 Mar
image

The moon beside the Tower of the Americas, downtown San Antonio

image

Wouldn't it be great if this were for sale? Sadly ... it's historic.

image

So many happy people were enjoying this fountain.

image

We got culture.

… downtown.

Despite having a really busy junk fest this weekend, I made two separate trips downtown Saturday.

I always dread driving downtown. It’s usually swarming with tourists, and I don’t know how to navigate all the one-ways very successfully. I can’t find parking. I can’t figure out how to drop off a passenger safely when there’s no parking lot. I feel like a suburbanite, wishing for a black car and driver.

But, as luck would have it, I had no choice Saturday. Once I’d deposited my passenger at his destination, I drove aimlessly for a while. I finally found free street parking and set off on an explore.

Truth be told, I love cities. And it’s a shame that I avoid our city center most days. Saturday was a beautiful day in San Antonio. It was a perfect day to discover a new cupcake shop. I watched a grown man ride his bike up the side of a building. (No, not all the way up.) There was a throng of people at the base of the tower, anxious to catch the elevator for an amazing view of the city. There were girls wearing shimmering formal dresses with red Chuck Taylors playing on the all-wood playscape where my boys played when they were younger. Mostly? There was sunshine. And smiles. And lots of laughter.

After a quick trip home and a change of clothes, I went back downtown for an evening at the symphony. My husband drove this time. He knew exactly where to park. We quickly made our way to the majestic Majestic Theatre. And I was wishing for some Chuck Taylors of my own.

3 Responses to “When you’re alone, and life is making you lonely, you can always go…”

  1. Debbie York March 5, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    Gah Yogi…you’re deep! It’s been years since I’ve visited one of Texas’ finest. May have to work on that.
    Deb
    P.S. I personally think you could rock the CT’s.

  2. Shabby Chic Addiction March 5, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Hey, first read and I enjoyed it so much that I subscribed!

    • junkology March 5, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

      Thanks! I’m kind of a blogging slacker, so don’t get too attached! hahahahaha

Leave a Reply

