Hats for sale!

21 Mar
image

My helper likes the hat boxes too. I need to get them to the shop before she destroys them!

image

My favorite hat box shape

image

I've never heard of this shop. Have you?

image

Labels. I'm always tempted to remove them to use in art projects. But usually I don't.

image

This is my favorite hat from the weekend score.

image

This looks like "Caps for sale!"

image

This top hat is a little bit Trash, a little Peacock Park Design, a little Vintage Rescue Squad, some Swoon, and a little Tim Holtz all on top of Redneck Chic!

When my kids were little, we loved reading, “Caps for sale! Fifty cents a cap!” Those lines must’ve stuck. I can’t seem to pass up a cheap hat. And I love it when there’s a cute label tucked inside. And I love it even more if the hat comes in its own box. And even better is when that box is from a Texas department store!

So my weekend in Waxahachie and Ft. Worth had me on junker’s cloud nine, with a score of five vintage hats and three Texas hat boxes. The hat form was a Ft. Worth cattle barn flea market purchase too!

The bottom photo is my entry in the top hat contest hosted by the rodeo queens at the Petticoats on the Prairie show in Waxahachie last weekend. Had Robelyn been wearing it during the judging, I’m sure it would’ve won! Watch for it at the Redneck Chic tent at Zapp Hall in Warrenton. You’re going to the big show, right?!

5 Responses to “Hats for sale!”

  1. Cindy Mayfield March 22, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    She is so stinking cute! LOADS of wonderful top hats, need to post the pics somewhere. And so glad that you found the ones you did. Great job.

    hugs,
    c

    • junkology March 22, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      Looks like you found a place to post them!! Just a couple of GLARING omissions. *cough, cough*

  2. Charlene March 22, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    I had SO MUCH FUN being with you all weekend. Hated for the fun to stop but, we’ll take up where we left off in Round Top!!! See ya soon! HUGS!
    Charlene

    • junkology March 22, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

      Yay!!! It’s SOUL VACATION month!!

  3. Jaybird August 10, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    The Fair Store and Monnigs were both Waco institutions. When we had a great shopping district in down town Waco, they were two of my favorite stores. The Fair store had all sorts of interesting things. They also had a store in McGregor that had more odd “stuph”. I spent a lot of time with a kid or two in tow, looking at their goodies, and finding fabric pieces to make the kids clothes as well as my own.

Leave a Reply

