My happy place

7 Apr
image

That's my friend Cindy and some random man. I wanted a picture of his "Happy Place" sign, but he said it was heavy so I snapped the picture quickly, cutting off the word "place." (Beware of Cindy. She will steal your cell phone and offer a pink pen in its place.)

Truth be told, there are many places that fall into “happy place” territory for me. I love the beauty of an old church sanctuary, the majesty and stillness of the mountains. And right now? My son is strumming his guitar loudly, which makes my heart sing.

And last week? I was at my happiest once again, chasing down good junk in the dusty cow pastures of Warrenton and Round Top. I spent a record eight days in the fields during this show, which I realize is more than a week so don’t go criticizing my math skills.

I was sweaty. My hair was HUGE and frizzy from the humidity. My ankles were swollen and are still covered in mosquito bites. I got very little sleep. Still? I was (and am) happy. It’s a kind of junking high, I guess. I know I’ll eventually come down, but I’m trying to take advantage of it while I can. My car is almost entirely empty already. And my space at the shop is getting full!

But the best part of antiques week isn’t the vast collection of goods. Yeah, there’s always great junk. But it’s the collection of personalities that keeps me coming back for more. Even when the temps soar past 100. Even when it’s rainy. Even when it’s so windy the sand whips at your legs like you’re on the beach.

I adore and admire so many of the dealers that sell in those cow pastures. And I’m amazed that they return show after show. With smiles on their faces. I wear out my welcome bending their ears and sitting in their chairs and stealing the breezes from their fans. And still they smile. They generously offer gum and beds and discounts and gifts. They don’t have to do it. It’s just the kind of people they are. And I love them for it. And I’m so fortunate to know each and every one of them.

Then there are the other junkers. I get a lot accomplished walking the fields alone, but I love the company of fellow junkers. Of like minds. Of shared experiences. We talk a little shop. Dream big. Laugh loudly. And eat well.

And after hours? More talk. More laughs. More mosquito bites.

That’s antiques week…the junk, the people, the food, the gatherings. Always something new to see. Always someone new to meet.

To my friends, both old and brand new, I’m already looking forward to seeing you again in six short months in the fields of dreams. My happy place is your happy place. Am I right?

14 Responses to “My happy place”

  1. Lisa Johnson April 7, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    These are the posts I love. I am living vicariously through you. I dream of doing a week in texas in the fields and if you ever want a buddy to tag along, I’m your gal. I mean it. I would love to junk Texas with someone who knows what their doing. I think it would be too overwhelming on my own. Can’t wait to see what goodies you found.
    Hugs,
    Lisa

    • junkology April 7, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

      Thanks so much for your comment, Lisa! Come on down! You can’t believe it ’til you see it for yourself!!! I’d LOVE another junking buddy! xoxo

  2. susan beaird April 8, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    Couldn’t have said it better! I love it, too:)

    • junkology April 8, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      Yay!!! And don’t you just want to cry now that it’s all over?! Only six more months to the next one!! xo

  3. sue April 8, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    You summed it up perfectly. It never ceases to amaze me how awesome, generous, and welcoming the dealers are. Well, except for crusty old guys ostensibly napping.

    It was a blast junking with you again, and I can’t wait until next time. I’m even looking into the Fall to see whether I can make it….

    XOXOX

    • junkology April 8, 2012 at 10:19 am #

      Yes! Let’s do it again in the fall!!! You like hot? It doesn’t get much hotter than the fall show! Missing everyone already… xoxo

      Me to crusty old guy with FAN: Enjoying a nap?
      COG: I’m NOT napping….
      hahaha

  4. Pam Knecht Fromuth April 8, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Love this post…you hit it all right on the rusty old nail head. So glad you are part of my junking circle! xoxo
    Pam

    • junkology April 8, 2012 at 10:17 am #

      It was TOO much fun hangin’ with you and your sunbrella, Pam!!! Let’s do it again soon!! xo

  5. Stephanie April 8, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Oh dear…can you feel my envy through the computer!? I would so love to go! Someday…
    And when I do I want to tag along with you!

    • junkology April 8, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

      Do it!!! We’d have a blast! xo

  6. Lisa Phillippi April 8, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    So well said! I love it too, and look forward to the fall show already!

    • junkology April 8, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

      Yep! Not long now ’til the next one!!!

  7. Debbie York April 9, 2012 at 6:32 am #

    Even without your brilliant mind…I’d still be the gum on your shoe. In other words…you’re stuck with me!!!
    ZZZZ
    Deb

    • junkology April 9, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      I can’t think of a better person to be stuck with (though I’ve worked some mind control if you think it’s me stuck with you)! Thanks so much for all your hospitality. I luv ewe!!!

Leave a Reply

