The gatherings

11 Apr
image

Carol Hicks Bolton takes the throne at Royer's for an intimate conversation

image

Dallas Market Center gifted bloggers with a sweet hanky and XOXOs

image

Bloggers Charlene and Cindy enjoy some face time with Carol

image

Royer's is a feast for the eyes as well as the tummy

image

Blogger luncheon swag bags!

image

Blogger luncheon name tags

image

Royer's Cafe

image

Blog Party queen...Theresa Cano, in her crown made by artist Karla Nathan

image

Author Lisa Love Harris being all authory and stuff

As if shopping the fields isn’t enough to keep you busy during antiques week in Warrenton/Round Top, there are get-togethers too!

I was able to attend three beautiful events during this show. Two were blogger events. The third was an evening soiree hosted by the rodeo queens of West Texas.

I met the rodeo queens at their antiques show in Colorado City, Texas, a couple of years ago. They took their show on the road recently to Waxahachie, Texas. Needless to say, the prairie picnic they hosted in Warrenton was just as lovely as their shows. From the nametags to the cheese selection to the caramel apple dip to the picturesque location, their attention to detail sparkled.The bad news: No photos. I took none. Are you bummed?! Of course you are. So visit their Facebook page for a look-see.

Theresa Cano‘s blog parties are epic. This show’s partay was no exception. Lots of giggling and photo snapping. Mouths burning from hot guacamole. Ears burning from gossip. This show Lisa Love Harris was Theresa’s special guest. Lisa just published her first novel, a mystery set in the junking world. I know how it ends, but I won’t spoil it for you. You’ll just have to read it yourself.

Another blogger event was held at Royer’s Cafe in Round Top. Please tell me you’ve been there. Bud Royer’s pie is Kind of a Big Deal. And so is he. This show he teamed up with designer and style icon Carol Hicks Bolton and Dallas Market Center to present a luncheon benefitting Dallas-based non-profit Dwell With Dignity. The food was amazing, as always. But the intimate interview with Carol had me close to tears. She talked a lot about her kids. She talked about her new shop in Fredericksburg and how it came about. But the conversation kept coming back to the importance of integrity. She stressed to the room full of bloggers that at the end of the day, you are not your blog — words of wisdom that needed to be heard by more than a single pair of ears — you are so much more. Your blog, the furniture you buy or sale or use to decorate is all well and good, but it shouldn’t be the focal point of your life. Amen. Carol is a trendsetter whose style has inspired so many people. But more importantly, she’s a beautiful human being. And that roomful of bloggers at Royer’s?  We are better people for having spent time with such an amazing woman.

If you aren’t familiar with Dwell with Dignity, I encourage you to check them out.

And, if you go to market in Dallas, be sure to visit the vintage market in the cash and carry area. Some of your favorite dealers will be there. I love going to market and finding vintage goods. Makes me feel more at home. Bud will be there too. With his pies! Who can resist that temptation?!

11 Responses to “The gatherings”

  1. Karla April 11, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    It’s quite an exciting atmosphere, I hope to get back to the big Texas junk party again someday. But it’s nice to know that the crown I made is still attending!

    • junkology April 11, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

      Karla! It’s such a beautiful crown… See you soon!!! xo

  2. Sisters Treasures (@SistersTreasure) April 11, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Great recap of the parties! I didn’t get any pictures of the Praire Picnic either, but thankfully lots of others had cameras!

    • junkology April 11, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      Thank you! The Prairie Picnic was so LOVELY!!! I think because I got there so late I never pulled out the ol’ cell phone! Ha. Those nametags were so wonderful… Mine went home with a friend who is planning to make some for an upcoming party.

  3. Tracy smith April 11, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    This was such a nice post! I love your heartfelt words. So sorry we didn’t get to share in the fun together this spring.

    • junkology April 11, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

      Tracy, I miss you! Thanks for your kind words… xo

  4. Anne Lorys-Fiona and Twig April 12, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Beautiful post on all the fun going’s on in Round Top and Warrenton, Kristi.
    And yep, that bloggers luncheon was super inspiring, Carol definitely has her priorities in order.

    Hope you had a great antique week and blessed Easter.

    All the best,
    Anne

  5. Elizabeth Maxson April 14, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    Oh how fun to see the excitement. I stumbled upon your blog and I was so surprised that we have so many of the same friends…I am wondering if you and I have ever met? If we have, then you already know I am horrible at remembering names! So forgive me if we have…

    In the photos I see my lovely Debbie, Tot, Theresa, Shelley, and others….was so fun to see everyone! Do you happen to know my sweet friend, Anne Lorys? She is part of the “Texan Gal Pals” that I love so much as well. Lots of Texans to love… 🙂 (Well, we are easy to love…)

    Thanks for sharing the fun,
    Elizabeth 🙂

    • junkology April 15, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Elizabeth. We have met…a couple of shows ago in Theresa Cano’s tent. She was insisting (in front of you) that I knew your blog. I was insisting that I did not! (I, too, am horrible with names!) Finally I figured it out and remembered that you had left a kind comment on my blog a while ago about some bus banner signs…

  6. Debbie York April 15, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    I’m so in awe…all I can think of to say is “HI!”. And that is all.
    Deb

    • junkology April 15, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      You bashful thang… Oh, how I miss you.

Leave a Reply

