My life in art

7 May
image

My kit for the Tim Holtz Configurations workshop in Plano, Texas. He provided everything. EVERYTHING. Even scissors. He’s like the Oprah of the crafting world.

image

Just how messy a table can get when there’s art to be made…

image

My finished configurations box…

image

Workshop with artist KC Willis in Ft. Worth. I had my own table. And was able to spread out! I’ll feature the project in a future post.

image

My finished book from KC Willis’s two-day class.

image

On the road to Kansas. Oklahoma antiques stop. We only spent three hours there.

image

On the never-ending turnpike to Kansas!!!

image

We finally made it to Kansas. This was my first project at the two-day Birdsong retreat, hosted by Karla Nathan.

image

Fellow Texan Nicki hard at work…

image

A little fairy mushroom project from Birdsong. I’m not really a fairy girl, so I gifted the finished product to my friend Lisa’s daughter.

image

But this fairy project I’m keeping…another Birdsong creation

image

Beth! She jokingly considered putting the now-famous Paper Cowgirl group photo in her theatre collage.

image

Our lovely Birdsong host, Karla, in her element.

image

The Texas Birrdsong crew! Tammy (middle) took a plane instead of braving the road trip.

image

The haul, minus our luggage, which went on top of the van. BUT…we added to this the next day. More great finds in Oklahoma were calling our names!

image

You have no idea how true this shirt is.

image

Ah. The Texas border at last.

So I was in Ft. Worth, Texas, starting the last leg of my long journey home down the breathtakingly beautiful I-35 from Lawrence, Kansas. As I was admiring the Ft. Worth skyline, I suddenly remembered the family trips we took when I was a kid. I was always enamored by cities.

We’d leave the rural flatlands of West Texas and head to exotic locales such as Texarkana, Texas, or Pineville, Louisiana.

Me, always in the backseat, sandwiched between two sisters who threatened to snuff me out if my feet strayed from the hump on the floorboard.

Me, asking for a wakeup call when we hit Ft. Worth. Because to me, Ft. Worth wasn’t where the West began so much as it was where the west ended. Where everything got a little more interesting.

There was the skyline, of course. Then just a few miles up I-30 there was an amazing place called Six Flags Over Texas. I always begged to stop there, even though I knew we wouldn’t. Then up the road just a tad further was the Really Big skyline of Dallas. I think the conversation at that point, at least in my memories, always focused on the Kennedy assassination.  Travel back then was cramped, but dreams were big. Our only entertainment was getting away with unfastening our seatbelts without our parents catching us and listening to 8-tracks. Most likely Kenny Rogers. If we were lucky, we’d get to put in Frampton Comes Alive or listen to rock radio for awhile.

The journey is important. That I know.  And I don’t want to lose that excitement for travel. That feeling of freedom you only find on the open road. The wonder of what you’ll discover. Who you might meet.

When my kids were little they were great travelers. And they almost always said they wanted to go to college in whatever city we’d be visiting. We weren’t even sure some of the cities had colleges. But they loved the newness, even at such young ages, of being somewhere fresh. I don’t want them to lose that feeling. I don’t want to lose that feeling.

My mom gifted me with a collage a few years ago that reads, “To go through life with childlike dreams and airy hopes is such a gift.” And as I stared at the Ft. Worth skyline that day, weary from the road and ready to be home — even though the San Antonio skyline is less than stellar, I was a believer.

Three art workshops in one week. Friends. Laughter. Travel. In the end it’s all worth being stuck in the middle with your feet firmly planted on the floorboard hump. Or, in my case this time, with a box of fresh-picked junk underfoot.

10 Responses to “My life in art”

  1. Dawn @ The Feathered Nest May 7, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    Wonderful post sweet girl!!!! Wonderful art too!!! You’ve been one busy artist! I love it all and love that you’ve had such a good time, found treasures and enjoyed the company of so many precious friends ~ sounds like heaven! hugs and love, Dawn

    • junkology May 7, 2012 at 10:26 am #

      Would’ve been even better if you were a part of it!!! xo

  2. Susan Hahaj May 7, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    Wow, you were one busy craftin’ girl! It was great to spend a tiny piece with you at Tim Holtz! I’m sure I’ll see you soon at another creative event!

    • junkology May 7, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

      I thought I added the photo of us with Tim! Don’t know what happened to it. I had trouble with this post. It was great seeing you and riding with the top down!!! Wicked Tea?!

  3. Debbie York May 8, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    Good gravy girl! If you’re gonna take me on a trip down memory lane…tell me to pack some kleenex next time!
    Seriously…as I was reading and smiling along, I got caught up in much the same memories as you were regaling me with. I always wanted to live in whatever town we were traveling through and I always got stuck with the hump!
    What fun you had and man alive you sure crammed a lot into those seven days…kinda like the back of the van!
    Deb

    • Lisa Love Harris May 8, 2012 at 11:54 am #

      Hey, Junkin’ Sista–Great post! What a wonderful juxtaposition of art, memories, and road-trippin’. Love the pics and the wonderful way you tell a story. WOW!–the art peices are incredible! Makes me want to hit the open road and create, create, create! You inspire me.
      Peace, love, and marvelous art-filled days, my friend! xxoos

      • junkology May 8, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

        Thank you, sweet friend! Looking forward to creating some awesome memories with you soon!! xo

    • junkology May 8, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

      Ooops! Didn’t mean to catch you unawares!! I STILL want to move to every city I visit!

  4. Susan Broyles May 22, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    What a great trip! I love the story about your travels. Sounds very familiar to me! Many, many trips down that KS turnpike for me! I always love it. Susan

    • junkology June 1, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

      Thanks, Susan! That turnpike is never-ending!

Leave a Reply

