Why I love the interwebs, part one

27 Jun

I have been a Picmonkey user for a few months now. It seemed to be the way to go after Google gave the ax to Picnik. If you aren’t familiar with Picmonkey, it’s a FREE photo editing program available to you online. You don’t need to register or anything in order to use it.

Now. Those of you who know me, know that I’m not huge on photo editing. I could go on and on about my (limited and long ago) days in the dark room, about the framing of a shot, about the importance of polaroids at professional shoots (sad that very few people can even understand that reference today), about the natural composition of a photo, OR about my 180-turn into not giving two shakes about taking “real” photos. But that’s not what this is about.

Picmonkey, for me, is simply a tool for cool. Case in point:

Image

I put this little card together in about a split second. First I uploaded into Picmonkey an image I found of the back of a postcard. (I’m involved in a postcard art swap this summer, so I have LOTS of postcard examples. The one I grabbed happened to be from an Africa swap and makes no sense with the image!) Then, I used the layering tools available through Picmonkey to layer on the image of the bareback rider. As you can see, it looks like it is behind the postcard image, thanks to the magic of the layering tools on Picmonkey. Finally, I added the text. I merged all my layers, saved it to my hard drive and now that little sign sits with (you guessed it) my vintage ink stamps at the shop! So easy and so cute. Imagine how cute it would’ve been if I’d taken more than a split second!!

But that’s not all! The best part happened when I shared this image and information on my Checkered Past Facebook business pageOne of my followers saw it, used it, blogged it, expressed her happiness to me about it and lived happily ever after! 

And that, my friends, is why I love the interwebs, part one. And you can too!

2 Responses to “Why I love the interwebs, part one”

  1. Beverly June 27, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Thank you ever so kindly!!!!!!!!!! Beverly from Tea Cottage Pretties!!! Go try it out everyone is is fabulous and I have used Corel for years and I must say I love PicMonkey!!!

    • junkology June 28, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Beverly!

Leave a Reply

